Moving Quickly

Things are moving quickly. Our sweet little man is 15 months old today!! *Fun fact: Two years ago today was our insemination and conception date!!!* He is getting so big and changing so fast.  Just when I start getting the hang of a particular routine, he switches everything up on me again! I guess that’s motherhood though…..you constantly have to evolve with your kids.  I am doing a really crappy job in the process of trying to wean Lach from one of his nursing sessions.  He nurses for his AM nap, and then again for bedtime.  I’m trying to completely eliminate the AM nursing session and go to just nursing to bed at night. Some days it goes really well, others – not so much.  I had 3 days of getting him to sleep in his stroller (so easily too!) with NO milk.  Then, on day 4, he pitched a fit for milk and pointed to the chair & boppy and cried and cried.  Of course I nursed him and am not beating myself up for it.  He clearly needed it that day, so I did it.  We had about 2 days of back-to-old-nursing sessions out of routine.  Well, it’s a new week now and I got him to sleep today without milk! Wooo! So, we’re back to trying to partially wean.  My goal is get rid of the AM session, and then in about a week or so, try to remove the night-time one (and the subsequent mini sessions throughout the night).  I’m no dummy and know this will NOT be an easy task.  I wish he liked PLAIN OLD WHOLE MILK….as I would try to give him a bottle in the middle of the night and see if eventually he’d wean off that too.  Alas, he only drinks chocolate milk. I guess I could do that in the night (or try at least)…..but then I start thinking of the sugar in it and fear of tooth decay and all that.  Sigh.  These things are hard, and there is no magic “how to” to get the job done.  Motherhood is also just figuring-it-out-as-you-go.  Anyway, some input on this would be great if you guys have some.  Especially from mama’s who nursed toddlers….Oh, and if you were nursing a toddler AND pregnant, that’d be the jackpot!! Any advice totally appreciated of course.

Tomorrow I’ll be 15 weeks pregnant.  I feel like that sort of happened in the blink of eye.  My belly is really starting to pop, and if you can believe it…..the elastic band on my friggin’ maternity jeans are ALREADY starting to roll down.  It won’t be long until the underwear does the same.  Ahhh, sweet memories.  Sleep is still okay.  I am getting some minor back pain, but nothing major.  The body pillow is my best friend again.  So far, so good in the wrist department.  Don’t know if you all remember, but last time I had some serious serious carpal tunnel stuff going on (both wrists).  I had to wear wrist guards on both wrists and developed ganglion cysts as well.  (How can pregnancy make your body do this stuff!??).  I am hoping hoping hoping (seriously….) that I get a break this go-round.  Cannot even begin to imagine how I could pick up a 24 pound toddler when it feels like both my wrists have been smashed by a baseball bat.  I’m actually feeling pretty good.  Virginia hasn’t gotten HOT yet, so I’m good.  When the summer comes it will be challenging…but, for now, I am enjoying taking Lach for walks in the beautiful sunshine with a nice breeze blowing my way.  Oh, I’m beginning to feel the baby move too!! So excited about that.  I am feeling those familiar flutterings in my belly….like a butterfly is trapped in there.  It’s so cool and I am going to try to cherish every moment and feeling during this pregnancy (will I be saying that when he/she is kicking my ribs?) knowing that this will most likely be my last pregnancy.  Another really exciting thing – our gender ultrasound is on April 22nd.  I’ll be about 18.5 weeks, which is right when we found out we were having a boy last time.  I have a very strong feeling it’s going to be another boy….but the fact that it could be a girl is pretty cool too!

Thanks for all the sweet and congratulatory comments on the house.  We are just in love with it and cannot wait for closing.  We spent some time there over the weekend and seem to just adore the place the more and more we visit it.  We’ve gotten a few things for the front porch (rocking chair, flower pots, etc) in hopes that the place is already ours….the inspection is tomorrow at 1:30pm and I’m just crossing everything that there is nothing major major to be fixed.  Usually the big things are heating/air, roof, foundation, pluming/electrical…..I know we’re good on the HVAC system and roof….hoping the other stuff is okay.  I just cannot wait to get in to it and make it ours.  Every time we go over there, Lach runs around the yard like he is in heaven.  I can’t wait for us to raise a family in this home.  I’ll be sure to post pictures of the inside and out once we’ve sealed the deal.

11 thoughts on “Moving Quickly

  1. I CAN’T believe he is 15 months!! Where did the time go?

    You’ve got so much going on! I’m so excited that your pregnancy is progressing well, and I hope that you stay pain-free in your wrists this time.

    Good luck with weaning Lach….I’m sure he’ll come around soon. 🙂

  2. What about almond milk or flavored almond milk? I’m not sure how the sugar content compares to whole chocolate milk…..Daniel is taking a butt load of almond milk during the night right now – MAJOR growth spurt!

  3. «Our sweet little man is 15 months old today!!»

    Like our. 😉

    But the fun fact. Our conception date is exactly on month later on the 29th. Now my wife and her sister are both pregnant and her sister is one month faster. So we will see. It would be fun, if two babys from twins (because she and her sister are twins) will arrive on the same day.

  4. Fingers crossed on the inspection! I can just picture you three (four!) in that sweet house! Your city has so many houses with such great character.
    I HATE the underwear rolling down feeling! I love huge soft cotton maternity underwear.
    To your point, there is no “how-to” book for kids. But I’m currently reading the No-Cry Sleep Solution – have you read that one? S. is waking up a couple of times a night and not becuase he’s hungry. I actually think he might have night terrors because he screams like he never cries during the day.
    Anyway, The No-Cry Sleep Solution specifically addresses how to help a child sleep through the night while still nursing and/ or still co-sleeping (if that’s what you want to do). I think it has some good ideas.

  5. when we weaned our little one from breast milk then formula, she had no interest in whole milk. we split it with both and heated it and eventually got to all whole milk heated and now she loves it. so my recommendation would be to pump and mix for a couple feedings so he can get use to the taste of the whole milk with the breast milk and heating it seemed to do the trick for us. good luck!!

  6. 15 weeks AND 15 months??? I can’t believe it!

    Good luck with the weaning. I can’t wait to hear more about how you get it done.

    I love your sweet house. Hope the inspection is perfect.

  7. delurking here to comment on the weaning – why not try to mix whole and breast milk for a little while that would eliminate the sugar from the chocolate and still give him the benefits of the breast milk. Just a thought :o)

  8. I got tons of advice (and ass-vice) about what to do to wean before my new baby arrives (my second is due at the end of May, only 4 months after my first turned 1) but I just had to figure out what worked for us, with a little bit of trial and error. So after two weeks of chocolate, strawberry and plain milk I got her switched to just plain, then I cut out her day feedings-went a month of getting her used to just whole milk during the day, then cut off her night feedings. Two nights of waking more often than usual to rock her when she refused a bottle and now she has been fully weaned for a month.

    Sugar-free chocolate syrup is pretty good, I used it when I was dieting and in milk it doesn’t taste really taste any different. I know you have discussed your preference for organic and I do not know if there is anything available that is both organic & sugar-free, but it might be worth looking into.

    Hope the inspection went well!

  9. He is so big! 15 months! Congrats! Though I do not have this much experience the nut milk idea sound good to me. Oat milk or rice milk might do the trick, too.
    Here in Germany most of the peds are skepticalif it comes to feeding cows milk under the age of 2, exceptof yoghurt (which is fermented and therefore better to digest). Some studies show a connection between neurodermitis,digestion problem and repeated sinuses in toddlers and children and cows milk, even it is organic.
    You have written earlier that he likes yoghurt ver ymuch. What about a “diluted” smoothie? Some yoghurt (or almond milk or oat milk), spring water, bananas (which have lots of magnesium and trypthophan that can calm little ppl down;-) some honey, blenden and shaked might do the trick without the chocolate and sugar?

Leave a Reply

