Bumps and Bruises

100_3664

Yesterday was full of tears….and big ones at that.  Lachlan had his first real “boo-boo’s”.  3 to be exact!  One after the other after the other.  You see, this all began because our little man can now sit up UNASSISTED.  No toys, pillows or blankets to hold him up! He can go straight to sitting up from his back or his tummy.  The first injury happened after he fell backward in his crib and bumped his head….that one seemed to hurt me more than it hurt him.  He was left with a red bump, but didn’t cry too badly.  Next, he was on the floor on a big comforter, crawling/scooting around and I was reading him some of his favourite Dr. S.euss books.  He was sitting up for a minute or two and then lost his balance and mouth dived into the corner of “Are You My Mother?” (board book).  He wailed and screamed and cried big raindrop-like tears.  No amount of “I love you to the moon ANDDD back” seemed to help.  That was the first time I’ve seen him so upset.  His breaths were deep and quick and followed by sobs.  It broke our hearts.  After several minutes of tight hugs from the little man (so tight he left marks on my neck) he was calmed down.  Next we showed him the water in the kitchen.  This is one of his fav things to do….he tries to “grab” the water with his hands and it makes him squeel with delight.  After said injury, we thought this would cheer him up.  Simple, but it works.  I guess he was just starting to get overtired and after 2 injuries…probably exhausted from crying.  Well, within 30 seconds of touching the water, he leaned forward with such force that he bumped his forehead on the faucet!!! Screaming insued.  This wailing we were unable to stop…the only thing I could think of to do was try breastfeeding him.  He stopped crying right away and nursed until he fell asleep for the night at 7:30 – one whole hour earlier than normal.  I think he had just worn himself out emotionally and physically.  I was so happy that he finally calmed down and fell asleep.  After last night, I really realized how much it hurts both the parent AND their child when they are in pain.  You want so badly to make it better and take the pain away from them.  I know this is only the BEGINNING of things like this as Lachlan starts crawling and discovering the world.  I’m trying to prepare myself for the many more bumps and bruises to come and know that I will try my best to kiss and cuddle them better (as well as try to prevent them from happening in the first place).  Speaking of that….I ordered him a foam play mat yesterday off of A.mazon.  It is PVC free and safe for babies 0+.  I searched high and low for eco-friendly foam play mats that were free of harsh, harmful chemicals (and looked decent too!), but had a really hard time with it.  Ultimately, we are paying out a pretty penny for this mat…but at least I know it it safe if he licks it or something! It’s cute too, and will protect his cute little head from the hard floor at work.  Definitely the cutest one one on the market right now (by s.kiphop):

41ZgB42WtkL._SS400_For all the mamas/aunties/nannies/honorary mamas out there, what do you do/recommend to keep your little loved ones safe on hard floors?

Next Monday Lach turns 6 months old.  I still can’t believe that.  Anyway, we are introducing solids then (rice cereal).  I am going to start by mixing in some BM with the cereal and seeing if he will take that.  If you guys feel like offering some responses…..I have a few questions about introducing solid.  My questions are….1) Do you feed him after you nurse, or before?? 2) When do you start replacing a BF meal? Or do you?? Is solids just in addition to the usual BF meals? 3) Should I start a sippy cup with water?? Do babies need water if they are still being BF???

I’ll leave you guys with some recent photos of the man! We are trying to get him used to the high chair a bit for when we start solids….he hates sitting still for long, so it’s a challenge!!!

unintentionally grabbing himself

100_3660

caught him!

americanbaby

“i have to STAY in here?”

5064_118575040796_505730796_3340339_4033875_n

so unimpressed

5064_118574090796_505730796_3340335_308964_n

17 thoughts on “Bumps and Bruises

  1. Ooh, Skip Hop. I’ve looked at those before so I know they’re a pretty penny, but so nice looking! We got area rugs around the time Will was Lach’s age, and moved the coffee table out of the room altogether.

    I truly can’t remember if it was milk then solids or the other way around. I do remember that they don’t need water, but you can do milk in the sippy if you’re trying to teach him the sippy. Don’t know if you’ve tasted the rice cereal, but I don’t blame Lach if he doesn’t take to it right away! Little Man didn’t start enjoying the foods until we added applesauce to the mix.

  2. i have tons to say about solids and foods – the best advice i can give you is to read super baby f.ood. It is a great book that goes over how and when to start foods, how to introduce them safely, how to make them if you want, and how to transition to table food. We use it as a guide and LJ is an eating champ. She eats off of my plate about 1/2 the time now and I supplement with other foods.. As for BF, I would say that LJ didn’t slow nursing till about 8.5 months even though we introduced solids at 6… I went with the philosophy that foods were about learning to eat not nutrition and that BF was still her main source of nutrition. So she started with lunch and it was served 1 hour after BF. That way she was a little hungry, but not famished. Again, the book is our food guide… it really is quite helpful. We started offering her water and she loves it. She drinks maybe 2-3 ounces a day. I offer it when we are outside and with meals.

  3. We introduced rice cereal with daniel at 5.5 months and he hated it – then i tasted it….didn’t blame him one bit! Tasted like glue! After that I made it with water and added in applesauce….then he took it fine. I used the website wholesomebabyfood . com It has recipes, charts, recommended BM/formula intake for the ages. Sample menus for the different ages – i was on it chronically!
    Hope that helps – he’s the cutest!

  4. OH and about the sippie cup – Daniel LOVES his sippie cup but only the one that has the straw….it’s a BPA free baby einste.in cup – it’s great – spillproof, breakproof, has a suctioned bottom….fabulous. Anyways – he loves it and drinks water like a fish…he loves it…and it doesn’t interfere with the amount of formula/solids he takes a day so it is working well.

  5. I am definitely going to come back and read all the comments. We just started solids this week at 6 months for my daughter. We have been using “Super baby foods” but I would caution you to consider asking your pediatrician for an updated list of foods to consider avoiding as it is a bit outdated with its recommendations on nuts, etc. (our pediatrician had a list ready at the fusspot’s 6 month appointment). The book recommends starting a few sips of water after a meal, but my lactation consultant didn’t seem to think that was necessary. The book also has quite a bit of scare tactics in it and a level of food safety I find it hard to believe that most real people can follow …

    I have been presuming that the first month or two of solids is just about getting the baby used to solids in her mouth (and we’re trying to stick to finger foods at the moment – not purees) and to like the taste of a few items so we’ve been putting her in her high chair whenever we sit down for a meal and giving her a few bites – regardless of whether she’s just eaten. I think most people don’t start replacing breastfeeding with meals for a few months and I’m also not in a rush to limit the breastfeeding at the moment (I’m sure you could push solids much more quickly than we are if you’re hoping to limit breastfeeding).

    • hey you. OMG!!!! he’s getting SO BIG!!!

      We had the skiphop mat for a while, in pink and blue. we loved it. the down side was that it didn’t last very long with the dogs walking all over and and 2 toddlers. it got sortof dented up. you’ll see what i mean. but we got some similar mats after that one that are working. just not as cute. it is a really nice looking baby mat!

  6. Some of the best advice I heard about solids was a slogan from the UK: “Food for fun until 1.” Which really helped to reduce my stress about the whole thing. Basically, until their first birthday, solids are about learning to eat, to be part of the meal, exploring tastes and textures, etc. etc. but the real nutrition is still breastmilk (or formula I suppose).

  7. Lachlan’s starting to look so grown up now in some of these pics – but then I guess coming up on 6 months he is growing up fast!

  8. The bumps and bruises are very hard to take for the mommies. Much harder on us then them! I remember the first time AJ fell over in his crib when he was sitting up and hit his head on his mobile thing… I think I cried more than him… Anyhoo… we have hardwoods too and we have a big playmat (kinda like the one you got) for him and some of his toys. He has learned that his area… and it has worked well. Doesn’t mean he doesn’t venture off of it though 🙂 but so far we have been pretty lucky with everything. He is even walking with his walker type toys and he knows how to fall on his butt pretty well so we have done well.

    Lach is an adorable baby boy. Love seeing his pictures.

    As far as the rice cereal. AJ wasn’t too crazy about it either until I started mixing stuff in it like other people have mentioned. Seems to help alot.

    The onesies are adorable by the way! I tried one on last night and he still has some growing to do in them. Once they fit well I will be taking some pictures!!!

  9. Poor little guy! It must have been horrible to have to watch him in pain like that. I’m glad you were finally able to find a way to calm him back down.

    Thanks for posting about the play mat–I just assumed none of those foam mats could be made PVC free. Good to know for later!

  10. Awwww, poor little bumped up guy! 😦 Not much to say about solids right now, but, we did talk to our awesome pediatrician about water, breast milk etc at our last visit. He says that as long as infants are BF’ing, they’re getting all the hydration they need. Water is fine, but it isnt necessary. We’re actually getting ready to take a really great organic introducing solids class. I’ll scan all of the info in for you and email it your way. You’ll probably be in a routine by then, but it might help 🙂

  11. fwiw, our pediatrician suggested offering solids first, then milk so that our daughter would be hungry enough to try stuff and get used to eating solids. she also recommended against water, because the fluoride can stain baby’s teeth, and they get what they need in milk.

  12. Oh dear, poor Lach!

    I’m of the opinion that bumps and bruises are sort of a part of growing up for kiddles. Don’t get me wrong, it still breaks my heart whenever Monster gets a (major) bump/bruise/cut (there’s a difference, my son is so dramatic he moans over a tiny bruise on his arm and itty bitty cuts on his knees need at least two bandages – I can’t wait for this phase to end) but its not like the hand-on-hot-stove thing, they don’t just KNOW you don’t stand up in a slippery bathtub. I’m not saying let him wander around without protection! I’m just saying don’t pad the crib bars with two inches of drool-resistant recycled fibres.

    After all that, I’m sure you’ve already eliminated all objects with sharp corners =) when Monster was two he fell on the edge of a coffee table and cut his head open. Still bears the scar on his forehead! With that lesson in mind, I plan on using ottomans as a coffee table all through my wee-one having years. ;-D

    I agree with that baby lead weening thing a bit. Using the BM in his rice cereal is perfect, because he’ll recognize one of the tastes and be less resistant. When Baby B got into solids we mixed in some of her formula powder with her rice cereal for familiarity and she LOVED IT. My advice with the baby food is to slowly mix in pieces of mushed food. It may sound unappetizing, but try cooked and mushed carrots, warmed and mushed banana and plain applesauce. I’d go with the applesauce and banana first because their flavours are a bit on the neutral side. Baby B liked the applesauce thing, prefered the banana plain and I never had the guts to try the carrots thing because she became SUCH a picky eater shortly before turning a year so *shrug* but it always sounded like a good idea to me… albiet a bit nasty, carrots in cereal? blech

  13. That was way too long!

    Lach is precious, fyi. He’s going to be so handsome, you’ll have to keep the lads/ladies off of him (what, sexuality is a blank canvas at that age, who knows!?)

  14. I’m wondering what CMS your site uses? This looks really good and I like every one of the guest functions that are available. Sorry if this really is the incorrect place to ask this but I was not sure the right way to contact you – thank you.

Leave a Reply

