I Heart Antibiotics

pills_white

I am always leery of taking medications…I take vitamins and herbs and try to find ANY other way to cure my ailments…..I never unnecessarily pop pills and always get on K even if she takes a few too many t.ylenol….but boy am I thankful for these antibiotics right now.  It had gotten so out of control….I was about ready to lose it!  I take my third dose of Z.ithromax (Z-Pak) tonight and am starting to feel a little better.  They kick in pretty fast.  My eye gunk has drastically diminished, and my sore throat isn’t quite as severe.  I still hate that I’m taking them, seeing as I had to take antibiotics at the beginning of my pregnancy too – for strep.  Ultimately though, I REALLY needed them, so what can you do.  Thanks for all the get-well wishes guys….I think it helped! I am so thankful my boy held off too.  I was actually really worried he wouldn’t! Now that I am starting to feel a bit better, I give this boy permission to join us!

Last night I had cramping that lasted about a 1/2 hour.  It was more uncomfortable than painful, but I found myself rocking in bed….until I fell asleep.  I don’t know what that was.  I’m having more BH contractions today, but still no real sign that labour is about to start.  I just feel “crampy”….almost like how you do before you start your period.  I feel that Wee One is getting pretty big too…his movements feel more like shifting now….I can’t imagine he has much room in there!  He has dropped so low, I find myself holding my tummy up when I walk!

Tomorrow is 40 weeks.  I can’t believe it.  Well, there’s still a chance he’ll come on his due date.  We shall see.  Wednesday is our next midwife appointment….if we make it till then.  I wonder if you can dilate beyond 3cm without feeling any pain!? Curious to see if my cervix has effaced any further, and if our little boy has dropped to an even lower station. Updates to come.

15 thoughts on “I Heart Antibiotics

  1. Glad the z-pak is doing the trick and that you are feeling on the mend. I’m sure you’ve been taking probiotics too, to boost your happy bacteria. All of this is making you ready for the birth, which will be soon!

  2. Whew! So glad you are feeling better!
    You can just buy a pro-biotic supplement in pill form from any health food store and actually I think many regular stores have them now too. Cottage cheese also contains probiotics.

    Can’t wait!!!!

  3. So glad that you’re feeling better. To answer your question, yes some women dilate without feeling much of anything beyond BH. Definitely look into probiotics if you can. I’ll keeping checking in to see if he comes on his due date. Rest up if you can!

  4. Menstrual like cramping is often a good sign of early labour. It’s all I felt until I was way beyond 3cm dilated. That said, it can go on for quite a while before progressing! I’m glad you’re feeling better, and thinking of you right now.

    Oh and I don’t think I actually commented at the time, but I’ll light a candle for you when the time does come!

  5. I felt “crampy” for the two days proceeding my active labor – and I was 3 cm and 90% effaced the week before. I hope Wee One is preparing to make his grand entrance!

  6. So glad you’re doing better! (And glad I’m not the only one bossing you about probiotics – go get a supplement – with abx, yoghurt is not enough…)

    Anyway, I still think you’re well and truly in the race. I’m crampy too but I’ve been crampy for weeks and weeks now so I don’t think it’s a sign for me, at all!

  7. *so* glad you’re back on track!!! egad, you just sounded miserable, my dear. of course I have to add my own public service announcement for probiotics — my homeopath recommended Jarrodophilus, which I’ve taken for years when needed, and I *love* it. Whole Foods has a fine and dandy selection of pro-b’s if you have one near you. but really, can’t wait to hear about the arrival of the Wee One …

  8. Glad you are feeling better!

    I was at 5cm in the hospital before I knew i was in labor. I thought it was just the cervidil giving me cramps. But boy at 5cm it really did start hurting.

    What is your official due date?

  9. If you can’t get a good probiotic supplement (they typically store them in the fridge scetion at the health food store) then I think there are now cheeses and such on the market that contain more active cultures.

    I got a great chewable version that taste like strawberry smarties at our local health food store.

Leave a Reply

