39 Weeks

shocked-woman_aa039975

Is that how you felt when you got shocked!? Apparently it was quite a few of you….! Traitors!…….. kidding…….kidding!

Most babies come after their due date, so I’m not blaming you for that vote….I’m just reeeeallly hoping you’re all wrong (and loving the girls who said he’d come early!).  A week from today our little man is due to be born.  I think the anxiety of “when will he come!?” has changed to excitement now.  I can’t wait to meet my boy! I just want to see what he looks like and hold his little hands and feet (that have been jabbing me in the ribs for the past several months!).  Very excited over here.

Anyway, we had the car seat successfully installed by the fire dept.  The guys did a great job and really knew their stuff when it came to the seats.  I had no idea that you use the latch system….not even the seatbelt at all!  Good thing we got them to do it…yikes.  We also picked up the new garden hose (to fill up the birthing tank).  That was the last thing we needed to pick up off our birth supply list.

Also, Liz asked about my playlist for the birth.  I’m trying to finish it up, but here is what I have so far (some of these artists whole CDS are in the playlist, others just one song from them….):

Alanis Morrisette, Andrea Boccelli, Anna Nalick, Aqualung, Ashley MacIsaac, Augustana, Be Good Tanyas, Ben Folds, Boomkat, Brendan James, Brian Littrell, Brian Wilson, Bush, Butterfly Boucher, City And Colour, Colbie Caillat, Coldplay, Corinne Bailey Rae, The Cure, Damien Rice, Daniel Bedingfield, David Gray, Dido, Enya, Ephemera, Evan & Jaron, Ewan McGregor, The Fray, Gavin DeGraw, Gavin Rossdale, Gwen Stefani, Holly McNarland, Imogen Heap, Jim Sturgess, Joe Purdy, Johnathon Rice, Keane, The Kooks, KT Tunstall, Lily Allen, Lisa Loeb, Mat Kearney, Matt Nathanson, Michael Buble, Michael Franti, Mike Doughty, Missy Higgins, Mobile, Nat King Cole, Natasha Bedingfield, Nelly Furtado, The New Frontiers, Nouvelle Vague, The Outfield, The Perishers, Plumb, Psapp, REM, Rogue Wave, Ronan Keating, Rosey, Sade, Sara Bareilles, Sarah Fimm, Sarah McLachlan, The Shins, Sia, Sister Hazel, Sixpence None The Richer, Sloan, Sneaker Pimps, Sondre Lerche, Spirit of the West, Stabilo, Supertramp, Switchfoot, Take That, Tatu, Teddy Geiger, Trevor Hall, Tracy Chapman, The Weekend, 3 Doors Down

Tomorrow morning we meet with the midwife.  I never thought I’d be looking forward to pulling down my pants in her office….but I’m actually excited to hear if there are any changes in my cervix…..there must be!  The last time I got checked was at 36 weeks, and the boy has definitely dropped lower….

Fetal development in pregnancy week 39: Whether you give birth tomorrow or next week, it’s pretty much all the same for your baby, who is now truly R-E-A-D-Y to face the big bright world outside of your womb. Speaking of wombs, your body is priming up for the big moment and hopefully, you’re as prepared mentally as you can be. Your baby is well stocked up on fat, all their organs have put on the finishing touches. Here’s hoping your child is already in the birthing position and basically just “hanging out” waiting for that elusive moment when all systems synchronize in your body to trigger the labor process.

Update tomorrow after appt, until then, 39 week belly shot people! (You can’t really tell in the side shot….but I’ve been visited by the Stretch Mark Fairy A LOT as of late…..TONS of fun there…but in the end, obviously, totally worth it.)

39weeks

14 thoughts on “39 Weeks

  1. Has anyone discussed the mucus plug with you? I only ask because thankfully someone had mentioned it to me, had that thing fallen out and I hadn’t know what it was, i’d been a bit freaked out lol

  2. gorgeous belly, fab playlist it sounds like!

    has k helped out in checking you? it was such an amazing experience for h to feel all up in there and come upon jude’s fuzzy head. she’s the one who first said i was going to have jude on the day she was born. she could tell how low she was, and off we went to the midwife’s house for confirmation…

    also, if you’re hoping to get things rolling, a little lovin’ goes a long way. tmi? we did the day before jude was born, and tada! (also, it was nice to have one last romp–albeit physically awkward–before i became happily celibate for awhile…)

    i am so excited to meet your boy too! come on out, little one, whenever you’re ready. welcome to december, your birthday! there will be presents!

  3. don’t get discouraged if nothing is going on at your midwife appointment. your baby will come. and will be delicious.

    at my last appointment with my midwife, my cervix was totally closed, and i started to get illogically nihilistic about my baby ever coming out, and even went out of town the day before i was due. labor started at 2 am on my due date. i was being a freak.

  4. OH YEAH!!! What a great belly shot!! Can’t wait to see the pics of little one!! And I hope for your sake, it’s an early and easy delivery 🙂 Positive energy to you!!

  5. It is all going to be so real soon. I can’t wait to see pictures of your little boy. I will be thinking of you and passing all the positive energy your way for an easy natural delivery.

  6. annabelle – thanks for mentioning the mucus plug. my midwife has told me about it….still no bloody show yet though….but, you’re right….if you didn’t know/hadn’t heard about it, it’d freak you out (i’m sure it would cause me to call someone in a panic!)!!!

    ohchicken – never tmi over here! i had a little lovin’ recently ….. the boy didn’t even budge…..wine and s-e-x….i thought for sure he’d make a move!!! k hasn’t checked me….i don’t think she really feels comfortable doing it….she would rather the midwife do it. it is so cool that h was able to feel jude’s head….that is wild!!!

    twoladiesinwaiting – oh yeah, i’m pimping the orange fleece ALMOST every day.

    travelher – oh yeah, tatu had to make it on there. i can’t help but like them!!!

    you guys are all so sweet!

  7. I can’t believe how close you are! Your belly looks just gorgeous, and I agree with Nutella–it’s easy to imagine a baby curled up in there. Oh, I can’t wait to meet your boy!

  8. I can’t believe you’ll meet your little boy so soon! I can’t wait to see what he looks like. I’m sure he’ll be adorable. So what are Jenny’s plans for when he comes. Is she gonna give you guys space for a few days?

    BTW, Jes has mono and anemia. She almost passed out at work…so they did bloodwork. So keep her in your prayers…I’m worried. I’ll feel much better once she’s in her 2nd trimester. (2 weeks to go).

  9. Oh I remember the feeling so vividly of not being able to stand the waiting to see what he would look like!!! I am so excited for you girls and can’t wait until you meet your little man. I expect pictures right away 🙂 only kidding of course…

Leave a Reply

