Full Term

fullterm

As of midnight tonight, we are considered “full term”…. tomorrow is the “safe date” our midwife had mentioned so many times.  We made it.  He’s almost ready and I can’t believe it.

We got back from our midwife appointment a little while ago. I tested negative for Group B Strep (yay!).  Blood pressure was still the same, the pee looked good and Nessy’s heartbeat was strong (and low!).  Wee One has REALLY dropped and now weighs approximately 7 lbs!!! She is still thinking he will be 8.5 lbs or so. She said, “as of right now, you’re not looking at 9 lbs or anything”…I was relieved.  I worry about having a very large baby, even though I am not overeating….sometimes that’s just the way they come!  She said she wants us to look at going towards our due date….don’t know if that means she feels he’ll come early or not.  Either way, in a few short weeks, we’ll have a baby boy in our arms!  It’s pretty exciting…..

Anyway, during the appointment, N talked a lot about breastfeeding.  She asked me if I had ‘flat or inverted nipples’.  Not that I’m aware of…..I don’t know, this is all very new to me…. so she looked at them and said that I had “great breasts” (another ‘yay’! …and sort of funny!) for breastfeeding. She squeezed them and A LOT of colostrum came out….I had no idea that there was that much in there!!! It was pretty wild.  She said that was wonderful, and that I shouldn’t have any problem with having enough colostrum, and then enough milk later to breastfeed.  She talked a lot about preventing cracked nipples and showed me the best 2 holds for breastfeeding for the first 5 days.  Apparently the ‘football hold’ is really good and showed me how to actually hold my breast (almost like a bottle) to feed the baby.  I had no idea breastfeeding was so complex….truly.   N is so knowledgeable though, and I feel like we’re in great hands.  She told us she can help us with most things that a lactation consultant could, unless there is a more long-term problem we’re dealing with.

The car seat is out of the box and in the back of the vehicle, just waiting to be installed. The buckle is done up on it, and the space to hold the little boy to come is SO small….I kept staring at that area….it’s hard to believe he’ll be in that soon.  It’s so funny, but I can’t wait to see it in our backseat! We are going to get it inspected later in the week too.  K still has to clean the birthing tank and move that into the condo (we’ve made room for it though!) and I have to do the final touches on my birthing playlist.  We are looking forward to a nice Thanksgiving and then some Black Friday shopping on the 28th (it is also our 7th anniversary!).  I really want to enjoy these last few weeks of time that it is just us.  I know things will change so much shortly….a great change, but a big change nonetheless.

Wishing everyone a lovely Thanksgiving with those you love…..I am extra thankful this year….xo

15 thoughts on “Full Term

  1. Congrats and making it to the magic date! Just a little while longer. I’m in awe of the photographs now posted. They look like beautiful paintings. Are they altered digitals? Anyway, congrats and enjoy each other to the fullest the next couple of weeks.

  2. wow! the babe is almost here and it’s sooo exciting! i’m happy to hear that the midwife is helping with the breastfeeding and the like. i’m sure you guys are going to be totally prepared! this is exciting, and i can’t wait to see the little one.

  3. Congratulations on full term. It has to be exciting to be able to meet your boy so soon. All this time planning and waiting for this moment. Take it all in and enjoy it.

  4. Congrats on the full term!!! I am extra thankful this year too… did you read my blog letter? One year since conception 🙂

    I am so excited for you girls… i can’t wait to see the little guy!

  5. Have been a lurker on the site for some time and have only posted a few times. Just wanted to wish you well and say how valuable your blog has been to me over the past months as we go on our own journey of trying to conceive. It’s been lovely to follow your progress and I wish you both, and your wee one, all the best. Can’t wait to see him!

  6. oh my goodness full term. I really like the picture at the begining of this post. I hope you guys enjoy your couple time in the next couple of weeks.
    p.s. congrats on your breasts.

  7. That is great about the colostrum! Wow! My wife’s milk did not come in right away, and that was tough to go through (having to supplement feed, etc.), so congrats on one hurdle you don’t have to overcome! Our son arrived at 38w2d, so here’s hoping your babe comes earlier too! 🙂

  8. Lady, a few things:
    1. You are gorgeous.
    2. You can not Not post for a week after just after hitting the full term mark. I’ve been hitting “refresh” for something like 160 hours.
    3. Kudos for being so prepared and keeping such a beautiful attitude.

    Love.

  9. jude and i hung out in the lying down nursing position for the first 2 weeks of her life while i healed. it’s still her favorite way to go.

    you’re going to be a fabulous lactator. i know it.

Leave a Reply

