34w3d Midwife Appointment

measuring-tape

Appointment was this morning.  Wee One was wriggling around everywhere! (Repeatedly kicked our MW while she listened to his heartbeat!) He’s still head down, and measuring a little under 5 1/2 lbs (she took the measuring tape to see how my belly was measuring and we’re right on target – 34 weeks!). Blood pressure was great, and there was no protein in my pee (woo hoo!).  Bad news though….I gained 4.5 lbs in the last 2.5 weeks!!!  My midwife said that I am carrying about 5 lbs of solid water weight all over my body.  My ankles, wrists and hands are pretty swollen. My skin feels pretty tight……N recommended that I lay down on my left side for……..get this….48 hours STRAIGHT.  Basically laying down, drinking, peeing for 2 days.  Yikes.  She said the the water isn’t “clearing” just overnight.  That may be difficult.  I’m going to try to lay down for a few hours tomorrow morning and then in the later afternoon.  I can’t imagine just being in bed for 2 days straight…..but I am going to try to do what I can to alleviate SOME of the water weight.  She said that if I don’t lay flat, it will only get worse….which we definitely don’t want.  We don’t want my cankles to now turn into trunkles (Karli coined that word up this morning….when cankles no longer even looks like calf ankles, but more like tree trunks with a little bit of ankle!).

One other thing! Checked our registry this morning and saw that a few family friends chipped in to get us our B.ritax carseat!!! We are SOOO excited. It was 300 dollars and we were going to have to get it in the next 2 weeks!!! It’s pretty hardcore, for 5lbs (so Wee One could technically use it now…he he!) up to 6 years old! I had to share this news….we’re pretty excited! We registered for it in “Cowmooflage”….how cute is that???

ptru1-4243723dt

8 thoughts on “34w3d Midwife Appointment

  1. ahh I have a britax too…. my daughter sleeps better in that than she does in her bed lol

    plus it has a role cage inside of it.. pretty cool huh? (my hubs is a race car driver, so that was the one thing that convinced him to buy a 300 dollar car seat haha).

  2. Have you thought about going swimming? Getting into deep water (not just the bath) for a while often helps pregnant women eliminate retained water due to the external water pressure.

    Other ideas include decreasing your sodium intake, exercising daily and drinking lots of water (seems counter intuitive but it dilutes your urine and helps you kidneys process more easily).

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

