31 Weeks Down, 9 To Go!

Six weeks till we are safe to have Wee One at home.  6 weeks.  I keep repeating it in my head…..6 weeks, 6 weeks, 6 weeks.  Granted, our little man will probably not decide to come at 37 weeks….but one can hope right? I’ve seen a huge increase in activity with him these last few days.  He is kicking my ribs and wriggling all around in there.  It actually makes me laugh sometimes because it’s so wild to watch your belly pop out in different spots.  We’re at the stage where he will now gain 1/2 a pound a week up until birth.  How crazy is that! I guess that means we’re looking at an 8 1/2 lb baby if he comes at 40 weeks!

Have I mentioned that I’m struggling with the wait? I just want to meet this boy and hold him in my arms.  I can’t wait to see his little fingers and toes.  Time feels like it has flown by….I can’t believe we’re 31 weeks already, but at the same time I just want him to BE HERE.  I know we need this time to prepare though, and I’m grateful we have it.  It still feels like there is so much to do before we become parents.  We have to get the rest of the stuff for our birth box….hopefully we’ll work on that this weekend, set up our birthing pool (and find an adapter for the shower), interview and choose a pediatrician, wash all of Wee One’s clothes, get a carseat, swing and several other things I have no clue where to get.  ie. “nightgown suitable to nurse in”.  Are there special places that sell nursing nightgowns? Everything we’ve seen looks like something my 95-year old Nana would wear.  I love her, but no.  Frilly, lace pink mumu looking things are not going to work for me.

I’m getting excited though….things are busy, but I’m really pumped about the next few weeks and months.  First of all, it’s Fall! It hasn’t felt like it here in Richmond (high was 89 degrees yesterday), but it’s bound to start cooling down soon! Halloween is right around the corner…my 2nd fav holiday next to XMas.  Our good friends are having a Halloween bash and I can’t wait….we’re also planning to go on the Creepy Hayride and walk through Scream Forest….we really enjoyed that last year and it really gets you in the Halloween mood.  The day after Halloween we’re having K’s old college roomate (ah hem…who JUST came out of the closet!) fly in to Richmond to hang out for several days….we promised we’d take her to the lesbian club one night, so that should be a blast! Our shower is that Sunday too….we still have lots of planning to do for that, but right now we’ve got 55 people coming!! It should be so much fun!!  Then there is our anniversary (7 years!) on Nov 28th…..then baby boy….then XMas! Bring on the good times & the cold weather!!!!

I’m trying to think of what else I have to report! We’ve been attending our birth classes (another one tonight) and get some “homework” each week.  I’ve been reading the B.radley book, which our teacher calls “the naked book”…..all the women like to be completely topless, even if they are just doing some of the exercises! It’s pretty wild.  There have been some really useful things in there though, and I feel like I’m learning a lot about birthing in general! I’m still scared about the pain, but have the confidence in myself that my body can and will do this naturally.  I’ve been trying to do the kegel exercises every day (forgetting some of the time) and practicing tailor sitting (cross-legged), pelvic rocking, leg strengthening exercises and squatting (which I must admit I sort of suck at right now….I have a hard time keeping my heels down!). Did I mention that instead of squatting to pick things up, I use my toes instead??! Ha!! Truly, my back is really starting to hurt …. so I’m really looking forward to a prenatal massage…I’m going to book that for next week I think.  I will enjoy that so much…I know my back will appreciate it the most!!! Here is yesterday’s belly shots for 31 weeks:

Questions for you guys: 1) What would be a good Halloween costume for a pregnant lady!?? I’m looking for something funny……and, 2) For those who have had a natural delivery…..any tips or advice as the big day is drawing near?? What pain coping techniques worked for you and why?

19 thoughts on “31 Weeks Down, 9 To Go!

  1. My cousin was preggers last year on halloween and she came up with the most hilarious costume ever.

    she simply bought a nice baggy pair of black sweats and a black tshirt. With white fabric paint she drew a skeleton figure on the clothing.. but also drew a little baby skeleton floating around in her belly area

    it was hysterical!

  2. Im going as a 50’s pregnant housewife and amanda is going as the milkman!!!!

    yay!!!

    You can be a deviled egg, a farmer with a pumpkin or watermelon as your belly in some overalls, a pregnant nun ( but I dont like that one! ) there are so many funny things you can do.

  3. dude. you must be a nun.

    as far as nursing nightgown? here’s what i did: hung out in a sports bra at all times. seriously, i was too tired to deal with more clothes than necessary.

    …and i had a nursing nightgown 😉

    counting down with you!!

    ps, and i’ve meant to ask for a long while, is your kd going to be in your son’s life at all?

  4. aww you look so cute! Thanks again for the cute outfit. Lily put it on this morning and before I got a picture she made a mess.. so next laundry cycle! Thanks also for the Big.lots tip.. I grabbed up a bunch of 1s.. As for nursing – I had a nightgown and a shirt and didn’t use either. I lived in super tight tank tops (still do at night) This way I can pull down one side and nurse…Plus – I leak constantly so the super tightness holds the pads in.. Everything gets dirty fast – plus since you will be at home you may want to just be naked a lot!

  5. I love that skeleton idea! TOOOO cute! 🙂

    I have been using my toes as well. It makes me feel like a monkey. 🙂

    I did a prenatal massage. I prefer “real” massages better, but let me tell you, I had no idea that my neck area was so sore until she started working on it. I think that whole area was distressed because I am not used to sleeping on my side (I hate it!).

    And get this, my carpal tunnel is starting to get more aggravated again. How is yours? Still on the two braces?

    I am impressed that you have so many active activities planned!! I felt really good until the past few weeks. All of a sudden I get sore just grocery shopping!

  6. prenatal massages are magical. i had one with piggy, it got me through the last 10 weeks of hugeness.

    oh! and you little gifts are ready, i just need to find time to post them!

    hope things keep going well for you 🙂

  7. You will love the prenatal massage! I know I sure did! As far as getting ready for the birth… I think just trying to relax and realize everything will happen how it is supposed to and that it is kinda hard to plan. But, get some things lined up on how you would like them to go, will help you feel better.

    Good luck… it is so close!!!!

  8. You are looking so cute!! I can’t believe that you are getting so close. I’m not sure where the time goes.
    I’m glad that with all the buy stuff there is some nice treats for you too. Keeping taking good care of yourself.
    Have you read Ina May’s guide to childbirth? It has lots of personal accounts of natural birth – something about reading these stories is really empowering to me.

  9. Thanks for all the great ideas ladies!! I love the idea of being juno or a nun or the skeleton idea with the baby too….I’m sort of leaning towards that I THINK….but seriously, now I feel like there are TOO many great ideas to choose from. Thanks again for all the input!!

    ohchicken – Our KD will have the same role as any of our other friends (female or male). we don’t refer to him as the “father”, because in our eyes, our boy won’t have a father, just two mamas. KD is a great guy who was so willing to help us…but doesn’t want kids of his own (worked out great!!)…so he will see our son occasionally, but not have any sort of parenting role (or rights).

    jkc – I haven’t read Ina May’s book, but definitely want to. It’s on my list. I feel like I have so much to read right now….but that is one I MUST get to soon.

  10. liz – my carpel tunnel seems to have gotten worse too, after being not quite as bad there for awhile. i’m still wearing both of the wrist braces whenever I can (definitely all throughout the night). i’m sorry to hear yours is worse. are you taking b6 at night? my midwife recommended 50 mg/day. good luck!

  11. I LOVE your blog! Why did I not know about this…now I have to play catch up! 🙂

    I can’t believe your baby belly! 🙂 Big difference from July, huh!? 🙂

    I’m not sure when I am coming for thanksgiving, but I’ll probably be in the area that Tuesday through Saturday? So I’ll definitely have time to get together. In fact, I’ve never seen your “new” home! I have to see the baby’s room! 🙂

    Anyway…I fwded your e-mail to my home account and now I don’t have your e-mail address…oops! 🙂

    So my random responses:

    Disney…can’t remember what I told you. We are going for new year’s just because my mom wants to…it’s going to be our Christmas get together for the year. But I’m also going later in Jan cause I’m running a 1/2 marathon there.

    My cat(s)…A few days after I adopted my new cat, I took them both for check ups and vaccines ($200)…the kitten (Lucy) was carrying calicivirus (but I didn’t know that)…so a week later my cat (Max) apparently contracted it, then he got a secondary infection (bacterial) in his mouth, he got crazy ulcers, couldn’t eat, lost weight, etc. He had to have surgery to extract 4 teeth ($500). He was pitiful it was so sad. I guess it’s really rare for that to happen in adult cats, but Max has a really weak immune system. Then Lucy had to have surgery for a hernia (that happened from her spaying surgery) and Max had a post-op check up. At which point they discovered Lucy was also carrying ringworm. So now they are on meds for 6 weeks ($400).

    So yeh, not all at one time…it was a crazy few weeks. But they are fine now. I’m so glad. 🙂 Max is my baby you know! 🙂

  12. OMG! i just popped in here and first thing i saw was your ticker….it’s all the way up to 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you must be soooooo freakin excited!!! and you look GREAT!

  13. You look great!! Honestly, the only thing that you can do to cope is exactly what you are doing- learning the options. Don’t ever get too hung up on the “exact right way” in regards to coping techniques. I learned and practiced them all, then never ended up using a single one. All I did was what my body told me to- which for me, was “lean on a wall”. Your body will let you know.

  14. Just stumbled on your blog today, a great read so far 🙂 “Wee One” sounds so adorably Canadian although I see you are a Virginian (I am from Canada but I’ve spent years living in Virginia – a lot of good times in Richmond!)
    Anyhoo. Just saying hello, you have a new reader here. Best of luck to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

