Shop ‘Til You Drop

Thanks for all the sympathy for our VA situation…..I know so many of you are in the same boat….It is just so unbelievably sad to me that it is 2008 in the United States, and we are dealing with these issues.  Here’s hoping for change SOON and a better solution for my family and yours….

On to a happier blog post…..this weekend we got a lot accomplished.  We drove 2 hrs to MD to pick up our crib.  K and I had fun in the car together, just joking around and enjoying eachother’s company.  Anyway, our crib is currently sitting on the floor of the nursery….out of the box, but not set-up.  The salesperson said it was “so simple” to put together…..yeah, not so much.  We’ll see how long that bad boy takes us to assemble! Here is a picture of it (it also converts to a toddler/day bed and then a full bed):

After we picked up the crib, we went to I.KEA to pick out a dresser (we are just going to put a changing pad on the top of it) that matched (as close possible) the crib.  We picked the 4-drawer HOPEN.  The picture of the dresser looks REALLY black, but it’s more brown-black.  Karli put that together in no time and it looks awesome.  It already has little-people clothes in it!!!

We had orginally thought we would get a rocking chair from B.abiesRUs or some other store…but they are very pricey and the ones I like all take up too much space! We were walking through I.KEA and saw this chair and ottoman that we loved…..sat down, and sure enough…..it rocks! Again, it looks more black but is really brown-black with cream-coloured leather.

I feel like we’ve really gotten a lot done.  The weekend flew and we are TIRED……but the nursery is coming together well.  I haven’t posted any ACTUAL pics of the nursery, as there is stuff EVERYWHERE…. as soon as everything is in its right place, I will snap away and post ’em!  Work is pretty hectic this week….we have a 670 piece t-shirt order that has to be printed in 2 days….yikes!  We need a vacation!

We have a class tonight called “Newborn Nuances” at a local hospital. It is just basic newborn care, including feeding, diapering & swaddling and Wednesday we start our birthing classes that will run once a week for 8 weeks.  Wee One is currently awake and kicking/kneeing/elbowing me.  I can’t believe tomorrow we’ll be 29 weeks….time is flying.

Ps.  There’s big news over at Notes From 2 Moms….head over there and congratulate them on their beautiful new arrival!

14 thoughts on “Shop ‘Til You Drop

  1. Heh! We have the same chair and will be getting the ottoman too – in red though! AND we did get the Malm drawers, in white. Love love love that cot. It’s gorgeous.

    We’re not having a nursery, just sidecarring a very simple cot to our bed so no nursery pics from us I’m afraid. If were were gonna do a fancy nursery though, I’d totally buy the cot you have. Did I mention I love it!

    I like your taste…it’s just like mine! teehee.

  2. Great furniture picks!! Too funny- we also picked a modern crib, and then coupled it with a POANG armchair and an IKEA dresser. We also slapped a changing pad on the top- rock on!

  3. mmmmmmmmm LOVE your furniture choices! and we have that same Poang chair. It really does work nicely as a rocker.

    can’t wait to see the pics!!!

  4. I love your furniture. I have serious nursery furniture envy. I might steal some ideas. 😉 It’s great to see all of this coming together, and I can’t wait for the photos!

Leave a Reply

