3rd Trimester!

I was taking the dogs out at work and saw the shadow of myself in the side of the building….I couldn’t believe my big belly and had to take a shot of it….I thought it turned out to be a pretty unique belly shot!

There is some debate whether the 3rd trimester starts at week 27 or week 28.  I’m going with 27….it gives me more of a feeling of accomplishment.  So, third trimester is here!!!  10 weeks until we are considered full-term! Wow.  There is still a lot to do! We have picked out our crib (finally) and should be ordering it this week.  It is dark wood and converts from a crib to a toddler bed to a pretty bad-ass full bed. It takes up to 10 weeks to arrive….so we’re cutting it close! Pictures of the crib to come soon.  As we enter the third trimester, my back is beginning to feel the strain of the added weight, I’m struggling even more with sleeping, and find myself often out-of-breath.  I’m realizing that I’m back to the peeing-all-the-time stage of pregnancy and I’m burning hot most of the time.  I’m getting the OGRE feet more often as I am getting bigger by the day. I’m very thankful we’re heading into the final stretch now..

The first & second trimester I experienced my fair share of the bad stuff:

  • nausea hitting me at totally random times (in bed once or twice, in restaurants and public places, etc).
  • developed a ganglion cyst and carpel tunnel in BOTH wrists, forcing me to wear 2 wrist braces a good majority of the time.  I think people look at me like I’m challenged….but that’s okay…they really help allieviate some of the pain in my hands and wrists.  Well, it probably doesn’t help that I washed the wrist guards last night with a green blanket, and now they are permanently GREEN.  That may draw a bit more attention my way.  Oh well, at least they match my nail polish.
  • trouble sleeping due to the bulging belly.
  • spotting and subsequent freaking out.

Things I avoided the first & second trimester:

  • I haven’t had a single charlie-horse!
  • No constipation! Who would have thought I’d ever be that happy blogging about that.  This is a very common problem in pregnancy, and one that I’ve managed to avoid!! I’m probably jinxing myself writing this down.

I am very thankful that the pregnancy has gone smoothly thus far….despite the annoying things I wrote about above….I am lucky that it has been so complication-free….I’m counting my blessings! Here is the first official belly shot of the 3rd trimester:

Tonight we have our Homebirth Support Group. Last month we didn’t have a meeting, so I’m really looking forward to seeing everyone and hearing some new birth stories…..they really are inspiring!  Tomorrow evening we’re going to a workshop on Fetal Positioning.  Should be interesting! We’re are getting into the busy time now with lots of classes and workshops coming up!

Next week Thursday we have our 28 week midwife appointment (including glucose test), followed by an ultrasound to check on baby boy’s development & whether or not my placenta has “come up”.  I will also be getting a bunch of bloodwork done and will be getting my Rhogham shot because I’m O Negative.  It will be a busy day.  Hoping that I pass the glucose test with flying colors! Can’t wait to see our little man again and see how much he’s grown.  It’s reassuring to hear his heartbeat and see him move around….sometimes I can’t feel him move and get sort of panicky…..some days he moves a lot, others only 3 or so times a day. I should have some new pictures to post after the ultrasound to show you all!!

Here is what is going on with Wee One this week:

Fetal development in pregnancy week 27:Your not-so-tiny-anymore brilliant baby (over 2 pounds and 14.5 inches long!) is slowly rotating in preparation to “head out.” Obviously, this doesn’t happen overnight, but when you start to feel an unfamiliar pressure on your cervix, you’ll know you’ve got a fully flipped baby locked and loaded for the countdown to their birthday! Even now, at the beginning of the third trimester, their little lungs are already capable of breathing air while the pulmonary vascular system can provide sufficient gas exchange and the central nervous system can generally regulate rhythmic breathing as well as their basal body temperature. For what it’s worth, at this point in a healthy pregnancy a premature child (with intensive care) could easily win on the show: “Survivor: The Early Years.”

10 thoughts on “3rd Trimester!

  1. I love that shadow photo. It’s beautiful. I can’t believe you’re already in the third trimester. Where has the time gone?!

  2. I think the shadow shot is great! Welcome to the third trimester!

    Ha ha, I just started with the hand brace and briefly considered wearing it on both hands too (but one hand is worse than the other). Sometimes it is nice to know that I am not the only one with weird pregnancy symptoms like having carpal tunnel in both hands. 🙂

    I never got the charlie horse night leg cramp until recently and I have only had it twice. I am at 32 weeks, so just a month ahead of you. No constipation either (knock on wood)- that just excites me because no hemmroids. LOL. 🙂

  3. Congrats on the 3rd trimester and latest milestone. It hardly seems possible that I’ve been reading along for so long! Your shadow photo is beautiful ….. love hearing about your preparations …..

  4. You are looking great! You had better knowck on wood when referencing your lack of constipation lady! Also, don’t forget to drink that glucose drink through a straw tucked between your tongue and cheek- it makes it go down easier, AND don;t fret about potentially not having your crib in time- you probably won’t use it for the first few weeks, and, if you are like us, your child may be 8 months old, and you still haven’t put him in it for even 1 night!!

Leave a Reply

