14 Weeks

Today it is a bit cooler in Richmond. We’re getting a little bit of a break from the super-high temps we’ve been getting lately; it’s a big relief that is much-needed. 2 days ago our A/C compressor broke. Since everyone and their brother is having A/C trouble, we were told that we can’t get a new compressor, and then therefore A/C that works, until (at the earliest) the end of next week. Lovely. The temperature in the condo got up to 91 degrees late last week. So, we’re staying at a friend’s place for the moment. She’s away for the week, so it worked out well. She has a nice big backyard that is fenced in AND lets us have our three beagles with us (they think it’s their own personal dog park – no complaints on their end). So, as we were heading out to go to dinner last night, we saw this unbelievably bright rainbow. It had just rained briefly but heavily, and it appeared just after the rain stopped. I’ve only seen a few rainbows in my lifetime, but this was HUGE and so colourful and bright. K always thinks a rainbow is a sign. God telling us that things will be okay – no matter what is going on in our lives. I don’t know. Maybe He’s just saying there will never be a flood again. Regardless, it always makes me feel a little better when I see one now. I had my camera in my purse when we saw it, and we stopped to snap a few pictures:

I’ve been such a slacker when it comes to belly shots lately, as I’m sure you all have noticed. My “belly shots” page hasn’t been updated in a few weeks. I was trying to take the pictures wearing the same sweat pants each week….but found them in the wash during “picture time” or we were staying somewhere else and then we both ended up forgetting to take the picture later. SO, without further ado, here is my 14 week belly shot in all its glory with the 5 week shot to compare to! (and one WITH my shirt on!):

I am amazed at how much it’s changing! The funny thing is, I can only notice the changes when I see the pictures. The last few days I’ve been wondering why my belly hasn’t “popped” yet….but I think it’s on the verge! What do you think??

So, here’s what’s going on at 14 weeks (when I turn on my Mac, my homepage goes to baby-gaga (a G.oogle page). It tells you what is going on with baby (and mommy) week-by-week. How excited am I this week?

“Are you ready to rock!? Okay, okay… maybe just a little rolling and poking. Needless to say, your baby will definitely be making themselves known in the upcoming weeks. At about 3.5 inches long, their little body and limber limbs are coordinated enough for loads of complicated motions. In fact, their whole body is moving right now! You’re not feeling it because their current size is still a bit too small to make an impact you’d recognize. Still, their movements are recognizable on an ultrasound. Speaking of which, you shoud be scheduling one with your health care provider! Week 16 is the classic date as you can usually determine whether your little one is going to pee standing up or sitting down. Your baby is also starting to develop the ability to move their eyes this week, although the eyelids still remain fused shut. What’s more, they can make all sorts of fun facial expressions as they practice squinting, frowning, and grimacing. Cute development of the week: their little hands can grasp at things and they may already be sucking their thumb!”

We are going to our FIRST Homebirth Support Group tonight! I have no idea how many couples will be there, but I’m really looking forward to it. I called the lady that runs the group a week or two ago and told her that we were a same-sex couple….I asked her if this would ‘be an issue’…. she was so sweet and responded “OF COURSE NOT!”, with a tone like ‘why would you possibly think it would be!?’. She was so friendly and said she was looking forward to meeting us on Tuesday night. She has been working with our midwife for 15 years as a birth assistant. I think our midwife is leaning towards wanting an assistant – just because this is my first baby, so I’m looking forward to meeting her as she may possibly end up being our birth assistant! My midwife really likes the “B.irthing From Within” ‘method’ over H.ypnobirthing or B.radley. Although she thinks the other methods have many good things about them, she raves about B.irthing From Within classes and says that they are not only practical, but address the emotion and spirit behind birthing. Apparently they are very hands-on and involve a lot of class interaction and role-playing. Our midwife was so sweet and let me borrow the book for the duration of the pregnancy. She suggested it not be a “quick read”, but rather, something that I really take my time with. Okay, I didn’t mean to get so sidetracked. Anyway, I will let you all know how it went!! Also (sidetracked again), I bought 2 books off A.mazon yesterday. 1) “Painless Childbirth: An Empowering Journey Through Pregnancy and Childbirth” by Giuditta Tornetta 2) “Jo Frost’s Confident Baby Care: What You Need To Know For The First Year From America’s Most Trusted Nanny” by Jo Frost. I couldn’t resist that last one. I love her!

Well, I believe this post is long enough! I hope everyone is having a good week so far. Here at The Chronicles of Conception, we are anxiously awaiting some exciting news from WE ARE FAMBLY later in the week (or any second) as she is awaiting the arrival of her little Sparky!!! Wishing you loads of good luck for a smooth and beautiful labour OhChicken!

14 thoughts on “14 Weeks

  1. Love the pics! The belly is adorable.

    Good luck with your group tonight, can’t wait to hear how it goes. So proud of you for going this route. Can’t wait to learn all about it from you.

  2. Beautiful rainbow – definitely a good sign!

    Good luck with the group meeting, hope it all goes well – looking forward to hearing about it.

    Supernanny is K’s hero so we’ll definitely be getting that one too when our time comes lol

  3. lovely rainbow! can’t wait for you to feel movements, there is nothing in the world like it. i really missed the movements after piggy was born and am already not looking forward to life without them.

    you have a great belly…very close to getting the round ball of baby!

  4. Your belly is beautiful–and definitely on the verge of popping! You look lovely.

    That rainbow is incredible. We used to get quite a few of them where we used to live because it rained so often, and no matter how many times I saw them, I always saw them as some sort of sign. They’re amazing sights.

    I’m glad to hear that you’ve had a friend’s house to go to in order to be more comfortable in the heat. Heat is miserable anyway, but being pregnant and dealing with the heat cannot be enjoyable!

  5. Fabulous belly — and for what it’s worth, apparently if you have stronger abs, you pop later. Less strong belly=early popper. So enjoy it! 🙂

  6. To set your curiosity at rest, yes 15 and I have tossed around the thought of jumping on the TTC train!! It wouldn’t be for another year or so, but I thought I would put my feelers out there and gather up how much dough it would cost to use her eggs and my uterus! Crazy expensive is what I’ve concluded! *sigh* Just day dreaming about TTC again gives me pit stains!!

    And yes I agree with the PPs, your belly is cute to boot! And may I add that you’re glowing!!

Leave a Reply

