Feeling Very Pregnant

I feel like I haven’t written a post in forever. Work has been so busy, and I’ve been rather sick. Nausea and throwing up or nausea without the throwing up, which can almost be worse. We’ve been working 12-14 hour days which are exhausting. I feel like like I could fall asleep at 7 or 8pm, and I’m a regular in-bed-at-11-or-12-girl. This morning I really struggled to get out of bed. It was a challenge. The pups were cozy and warm in bed – Jarratt cuddled against my pillow. The bed felt so nice and smelled like sleep and I didn’t want to leave. We have to work for a few hours this weekend, but I’m hoping to catch up on some zzz’s at some point. Anyway, about feeling very pregnant. Yeah, I really do. It’s like all of a sudden, it’s hit me. Week 9 has done it! I feel fat (understatement of the world)….but it’s a weird “fat” feeling. I sleep on my stomach, and my belly feels harder and bigger and there’s lots of pressure there. It almost hurts a little bit, so I often have to switch to my side. My backache is still bad and I am peeing all the time. I can’t say I’ve enjoyed the first trimester so far….I don’t really feel like myself – physically or emotionally. I’m hoping the second trimester brings more energy, less sickness and I can enjoy this amazing experience. All the bad stuff aside, it’s ALL worth it. No doubt about that. Tuesday was 9 weeks. I will update belly pics on Saturday. Here’s what’s going on (See the ticker on the right? Today is the day that Wee One gets ovaries or testes! Come on ovaries!!!) :

“You’re getting close to the end of the first trimester and your little baby is really starting to take off, with eyes and ears, and even their kidney is getting ready to start making wee-wee! Your slightly bulging mid-line could still be mistaken for too many Mallomars, but you’re on the path to steady weight gain, which we recommend you keep track of now (you’ll thank us later).”

We have a fun weekend planned. Tonight we’re getting together with a bunch of our friends from the lesbian discussion group we used to be in. The group sort of dissolved after 3 years; people just had too much going on I think. We haven’t seen some of these girls in months, so it will be nice to catch up, eat some yummy Mexican food and just relax.

Tomorrow morning we’re picking up our bassinet!! Again, we prepare early, as you all know! We’re getting the Eddie Bauer Wooden Musical Bassinet (matches our high chair, and we’re going to eventually get the dark wood swing as well!). Karli is especially excited to pick it up. So cute and we’re getting an awesome deal. We were going to buy it off ebay and it just so happened that the buyer was only 15 mins from us, so now we don’t have to pay shipping! Woo! Very excited about that. We’re also going to Woofstock on Saturday with our Beagle group. It will be nice to let the pups run and play.

Sunday evening we are going to G@y Pr.de Virginia’s Annual Drag Dodgeball Tournament & Luau!! It is so much fun – and K is actually playing on a team this year!! We’re calling ourselves (of course I’ll only be watching as Wee One said he/she doesn’t want to be hit by fast-thrown ball!) MANGINA. All the guys are in 4 or 5 inch heels, with fabulous wigs, makeup and dresses or skirts. It’s hilarious. All the gals will slick back their hair and wear these shirts that K designed and will print today at the shop (shirts are flesh coloured with the word MANGINA stamped across the right chest muscle):

I am going to take lots of pictures of the tournament. Hopefully K can kick some serious drag boy ass! How sweet would it be if we won it all?? Yeah, probably not, but a girl can hope right!? Apparently, some of the people competing are pretty hardcore and even considered professional dodgeball players. I didn’t even know professional dodgeball existed. Shows what I know.

Ps. Huge CONGRATS to JKC and her girl over at Our Incredible True Adventures. They got their BFP!!! Couldn’t be happier for you both!!!

10 thoughts on “Feeling Very Pregnant

  1. I know exactly how you feel! Sorry to hear that the nausea kicked in. 😦

    The drag dodgeball sounds like so much fun!

  2. Sorry the nausea and vomiting found you, hope it only makes a short visit.

    there is nothing better than buying stuff for babies..i really need to tear up my credit card before it gets ridiculous!

  3. Bassinet is gorgeous! I did get some of my energy back in the 2nd trimester… so hopefully you will too! Just hold on for about the 13th or 14th week and hopefully you will start feeling better.

  4. ohhh nooooo … the sickness held off for so long… sorry to hear you are pukey and gaggy. i hope it goes away soon. i love the bassinet choice. wow! time IS flyin!!!

  5. I can’t believe you’re already at ten weeks! How time flies. I hope you’re starting to feel better.

    The bassinet is gorgeous. So classic. I love it.

Leave a Reply

