Just Breathe

We had a very busy weekend! We went to ARTS IN THE PARK on Saturday, an event that goes on once a year…..tons of artwork, crafts, etc outside in the park. I took the above picture of ivy winding up a tree. Almost every tree in the park was covered in ivy – so pretty! Anyway, K and I didn’t buy anything (except for some delicious softserve ice cream for me!) but we did get some GREAT ideas for craft projects for home. We saw some framed, painted reeds that were different shades of green (it would have matched perfectly in the future nursery!). The picture was 1500 dollars….so, it wasn’t an option for us to pick that up, but we’re going to try to replicate it ourselves in a few months. It was SO hot this weekend. I am sunburnt just from walking around for 2 hours outside!!! We also took the dogs down to the River to go swimming (our oldest beagle pimping the lifejacket!) climbing the rocks, and walking on some trails. Richmond has gotten an unusual amount of rain in the last few weeks, so the water in the James River was higher than usual. K and I (and pups) weren’t able to go out as far as we normally do. We stopped at a little area that didn’t have a strong current and let the doggies swim:


We attended the memorial service for our friend N’s late parter Z on Sunday. Pictures of Z were passed around for everyone to look at. That was rough. Our hearts were breaking for N, who was joking with friends and trying to be so strong. His family and a big group of friends were there supporting him – hopefully the ‘service’ brought some closure to Nick. He planted a tree in Z’s memory and said a few words about his love. He broke down as he planted the tree – said he would always love him and would miss him beyond words. Mostly, it was just a way for N to say goodbye to Z, since he wasn’t allowed to attend the funeral. They had gotten so much done in a week – probably a good thing as it kept N so busy – they pulled up all the carpeting in the bedroom where Z died and replaced it with new stuff. They painted the room a beautiful yellow. He said it really made the room look alive again. K and I are really going to try to spend a lot more time with N in the coming months. He is excited about us being preggo and insisted that he is psychic and said that ‘yup, it’s a boy.’ in a very matter-of-fact tone. I told him that he must have it wrong, because surely it is a girl. Ha ha…. K was thrilled with N’s prediction, of course, as she is hoping that we have a little boy.

From the sadness on Sunday to great news on Monday. My good friend J did not have a miscarriage!! Thanks for the kind words of concern for her! She is so excited and relieved. She said it’s been such an emotional ride. For 6 weeks she thought she was pregnant, for 2 she thought she wasn’t, and now she is again!! The ultrasound immediately showed a sac, with a little one inside!!! She said it looked like a kitten – ha! She is exactly 2 weeks behind me!! So thrilled for her and her boyfriend.

The weekend seemed to just FLY by. It was so jam-packed with stuff, we didn’t get much of our normal “down time” to just breathe. I can’t believe we’re already at 7 weeks. Time is going by quickly. Tomorrow morning is our 1st prenatal appointment. I have no idea what to expect. We aren’t having an ultrasound until 20 wks, so I think this will mostly be going over medical history, doing bloodwork, etc. I don’t know. This isn’t my usual doctor, so I’m a bit nervous. We have all the prenatal appointments with the doctor and then the actual delivery (and probably SOME prenatal work) with our midwife. I really want to meet her in person soon. I’m going to give her a call this week to try to set something up. We both feel that it is really important to feel good about the woman who will be having such a big role in our birth. I will update later in the week about the appt!! Also, do you notice the difference in my stomach from week 6 to week 7?? Above my belly button!! It’s a totally different shape!

9 thoughts on “Just Breathe

  1. hi beautiful pregnant lady. i can see the first little pooch starting to happen in the belly button vicinity. yay!

    just wanted to prepare you to be on guard about your doctor poopooing the whole midwife idea…especially if you mention homebirth. we were hoping to balance dr and midwife for prenatal care, but as my archives rant, that didn’t happen for us. i hope you have a more supportive doctor than we did, though. i’m excited for you to have your first appointment πŸ™‚ it makes it all a little more real. (though, sometimes i’m still in denial, and i’m waddling!)

    got your comment about homebirth questions. would love to discuss more. feel free to email me. let’s talk!

  2. Love Art in the Park. We have the same thing, but not for another few months. Kudos on getting to the water and getting crafty! Good luck with the appoinment. oxox

  3. Our pup (a beagle mix) loves to splash around in the creek here–very cute pic of the one with the life vest! πŸ™‚
    good luck with tomorrow’s appt.

  4. I can see the beginnings of a beautiful baby bump there! Is it getting firmer to the touch? Sarah started getting “tugging” pains and all of the sudden the bump was higher and firm. Adorable.

  5. Art in the Park sounds so fun, and the doggie pic was so cute. In a few weeks we have “Bark in the Park” – a fun dog-day in the park. Last time my little dog did the agility course, it was hilarious.
    I can’t believe it’s 7 weeks, either! it seems like time is flying. So exciting to see your baby bump growing. I have faith that pretty soon I’ll be in the “expecting” category, too. I’m no psychic, but I think you’re going to have a girl.

  6. I smile at your belly shots and ohchicken’s comment. I had a neighbor tell me that. In my leopard print ‘stretchy’ mini dress that I wore around the hous e as a moo-moo. I was a sight for sore eyes.

    Yep, that pooch is so real. I got pregnant when IWas down in weight and I not only was already wearing loose fitting or maternity shorts but I could feel it when I laid down.

    Yes something changes in your body about that stage. And it’s a beautiful thing. Smiles . HUGS

  7. omg!!! i love those doggies!!!!!

    i def see a difference in the belly pics πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ soooooo exciting!

    have fun today at first appt. can’t wait to hear all about it…

    s

Leave a Reply

