6 Weeks

Wow, 6 weeks already!!! How excited are we?? I’m still a lucky duck with NO nausea! Keeping my fingers crossed that I’m one of those very few who don’t get it!! Symptoms-wise: my chest feels like it’s gotten huge…and is very sensitive. A good friend gave me a hug last night, and I felt like I could have cried! Still having occasion cramping, and continued backache. And did I mention that I’m peeing ALL THE TIME? No? I’m peeing ALL THE TIME. It’s insane.

I was amazed to read what will be going on this week. The developments each day are just awesome:

Your magical miniature baby is growing at unprecedented rates, developing hand plates and the beginnings of finger buds. What’s more they’re already demonstrating the reflex responses to stimulation! Ah at last! The beginning of symptoms of morning sickness should be kicking in for you about now if you’re one of the 85% of women that experience it.

Your baby is now about the size of an apple seed. That’s about 0.08 to 0.16 inches (2 to 4mm) from crown to rump. It has formed a distinct head with the first stages of eyes and ears. The spinal column and cord are formed. Buds that will grow limbs have also formed. The heart is starting to beat and at this stage its beating may even be detected by sensitive ultrasound equipment, though, it’s still very early. The kidneys, liver and nerve cells have also begun to develop. Ten dental buds are growing in the jaws. Blood circulation has begun and primitive red blood cells circulate. The neural tube has closed over along your baby’s spine. The optic vesicles, which resemble tiny discs of pigment set in cups along the sides of your baby’s head will develop into your baby’s eyes. A distinct tail is still present. The body is shaped like the letter “C”.

Here is my 6 week belly shot. K thinks she sees a difference…. I don’t know. I still feel bloated though!

4 thoughts on “6 Weeks

  1. I have my fingers crossed for you that you don’t get any nausea! Mine didn’t really start to kick in until the 7th week or so, and its been going on ever since. I had the same thing happen to me when someone hugged me! ha ha.

    🙂

  2. My sister never did experience nausea either, and she’s about a month away from giving birth. She counts herself lucky too!

    Glad to know you’re feeling so well, even if you are making frequent trips to the bathroom. xoxo

Leave a Reply

