Make Peace

The rain has been steady all day. This morning the thunder crashed so loudly, it woke us up. It sounded like it was right outside the window – the rain poured down for several hours earlier today, drizzled during the afternoon, and now is teeming again. The thunder is still crashing too, with the last bolt shaking the house. We’re supposed to have weather like this for the next few days. I’m not complaining. Rain has always been my favourite type of weather. As a kid, I used to go out walking in the storms. Something about the sound of the rain and thunder – I find it peaceful; it makes thinking easier somehow, and for some reason, I get my best sleep during a storm. I’m thankful it’s cooled off a bit, with the last few days being in the 80’s. I don’t do well in the heat, unfortunately. There are puddles of yellow rain on the sides of the roads now; the showers were much-needed though, as the pollen had gotten out of control, causing K’s allergies to act up again. As soon as she starts using that nasal spray, I know it’s bad. She practically gets addicted to that stuff during allergy season!

Friday night found us at the newly opened venue THE NATIONAL, for a live performance by hometown boy JASON MRAZ. The concert was impressive, to say the least. His talent never ceases to amaze me! The opening acts including a magician that was witty, funny and really worked the crowd. We also got to hear a trio of siblings called the MAKEPEACE BROTHERS that had some powerful lyrics and killer harmonies. They blew me away; I’m definitely going to be picking up their cd here soon. It was so nice to hear a group with a sweet sound, and positive lyrics promoting change. We also got to hear some fab new stuff from Mraz’s upcoming cd, “We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things”. Awesome. He did a couple of special songs bringing him back to his hometown Richmond roots. (I’ll will post some videos and music from Mraz below). He had his whole family there: aunts and uncles, cousins, friends, and his adorable little grandma. It was so cool to see him back home with so much support behind him. It was such a feel-good show and his voice was simply stunning. A pic of K and I as we were leaving for the show:

So, back in pregnancyland, today is 5w1d. K took a belly shot of me this morning (for our own ‘private collection’ – ha ha! you guys are only getting them every TWO weeks, remember!?), actually the belly looks a little smaller this week then it did last week. The bloating hasn’t gone away though, and my body just feels DIFFERENT. I have been having cramping, on and off every day (sometimes takes my breath away!), and backache. Haven’t had any other weird cravings the last few days though, but we’ll see what this week brings. Here is what wee one is supposed to look like right now:

K and I paid USA.BABY a visit on Saturday, and got a demo of the very buga.boo-ish SKATE by P.eg P.erego. It is made in Italy, has the look and performs beautifully- and has a way-too-cute bubbles pattern, and personally, gets my vote over the bug.aboo frog OR chameleon. At around $899 though … it should be mighty beautiful!!! That includes the extras like the rain cover, muff for colder weather, cup holder, etc, that would cost you extra $$$ with the bug.aboo. It is a lot of money though, not as bad knowing that we’ll use it for two children, but still it’s pricey for sure:

K and I are still looking at the Fisher Price Infant-To-Todder stroller that is a mere $150 and has gotten rave reviews in the Baby Bargains book:

We’re doing a lot of looking around, a lot of research. We most likely will register at T@rget and Babys.R.us when we’re around 3 months along. It’s a fun stage right now, just browsing the stores and keeping ourselves busy until we see the midwife. And with me still not having any morning sickness, it’s a prime time for shopping. Any distractions to keep from worrying is a good thing, and the appointment isn’t too far away now!

We’ll be trying to go as organic as possibly throughout my pregnancy, and in raising our wee one. I have switched to organic toothpaste and deodorant this past week (made with no aluminum), and will be getting as many certified organic baby products as possible. We are going to register for organic crib sheets, mattress, etc too, which aren’t pumped full of chemicals, and come from more natural ingredients. Also diaper-wise we like g.Diapers and K.ushies. Something that is a happy medium between disposable and all-cloth.

We’ve got a busy week ahead, with a 3000 shirt order due soon. It’s looking like K and the boys in the shop will be working all weekend too. Lots to do!!! Hope you all had a relaxing and restful weekend. I’m off again to watch the rain falling outside and relax in front of the tv with K.

Jason Mraz singing “Love For A Child” Friday night (I LOVED this one):

17 thoughts on “Make Peace

  1. Cute photo of you two!
    Do you plan on finding out the gender? I didn’t register until I was 19 weeks, I felt weird/unlucky doing anything before then.
    I wish we had some RAIN here! Instead, I have 8 days of “cloudy without rain” ahead of me!
    — dana

  2. I love the rain too!!! It reminds me of wonderful times when I was a kid with my grandmother. I lived with her til I was 5, and spent all summer with her til I was 9. In Guadalajara, where she lived, it rained pretty much all summer, and since my grandma was really apprehensive about using any electrical appliances while it was raining, we used to curl up in the sofas in the TV room which had HUGE bay windows and read while watching the rain fall. If it got too cold, she’d make tomato noodle soup and we’d have it in cups, or she’d make coffee with lots of milk and we’d drink that while we had a pastry.

    Very fond memories… Which has made me be very whimsical and pensive when it rains… Sort of a quiet type of happy… Content, you might say πŸ™‚

  3. Good lord! Practically a thousand dollars for a stroller???? Faints.

    As for diapers, I am going to be using BumGenius all-in-ones.

  4. Watch out registering at Target. You can’t take anything back without a receipt without them charging you a fee. I also heard if you register at Babys.R.us anything you don’t get as gifts you can purchase at a discounted rate. So make sure you put everything you want down even if it is crazy because can get it for less money.

  5. such beautiful girls!

    you’re already glowing, t!

    i love your rain photo and description. i feel the same way about it. and it’s hardwon in central texas πŸ™‚

    xo

  6. I saw a woman at the store with that Fisher Price stroller and I asked her what she thought of it- she LOVED it apparently. I saw the stroller after I had already gotten my red Kolkraft. It was smaller/less bulky than mine. You know how much I love my stroller, but I think that had I known that the fisher price one existed, I would have looked into that one too before choosing. πŸ™‚ Isn’t this point fun?

  7. You two are going to make one fine looking baby!
    I love following your shopping chronicles… it’s a really fun thing to do once you have a baby in belly and a due date. I can’t wait!

  8. Dana – We ARE going to find out the sex of the baby. I didn’t really want to find out…..but, alas, K does….so we will. She thinks it’s easier to buy stuff when you know the sex….which it is…..but the element of surprise is not there 😦 I haven’t decided whether or not I’m going to keep it a surprise from blogland πŸ˜‰

    Kathy – We haven’t decided on a car seat yet. We really like the peg perago one that matches that pricey SKATE stroller, but I don’t know. Chances are we’ll end up going with that Fisher Price stroller, so we’ll just have to pick a random car seat. Any suggestions guys?? Safety and comfort are the most important things….cuteness helps though!

    Thanks for all the comments gals (AND compliments!). OHCHICKEN- you’re the first person who has said I’m glowing!!!! πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks for visiting our blog! Just wanted to say congrats on the BFP and I hope you have a happy healthy nine months!! We waited to register until we knew what we were having, but if you don’t want to find out the gender I say go for it when you feel up to it:)

    Have a great week!!

  10. love the photo, and sounds like the concert was awesome! I love that you guys are shopping for strollers, im getting a “preggo contact high” from reading it. πŸ™‚

  11. Ahhh…i love the rain as well. Being from Portland, i miss that weather dearly. I was always remembered by my friends back home as the crazy girl who goes walking/dancing/running in the rain! I’m envious of you right now!!!

    Can’t remember if I congratulated you yet, but twice is never bad!! CONGRATS on your BFP!! Very exciting!! Looking forward to watching your journey. And now I’m REALLY envious of you!

  12. I also love the rain. It’s supposedly “raining” here today, but what they call rain here is more like mist. I miss the real rain like that you pictured above. But there is such a thing as too much of that–especially where we used to live in northern California.

    It sounds like you had a great time at the Jason Mraz concert. He’s fantastic; I imagine it was really fun to see him in that environment.

    Oh, and I second the others: you two look great, and you are looking a little glowy and pregnant, Tiff!
    xoxo

  13. We registered at about 17 weeks, once we knew for sure what we were having. It is alot of fun!

    I love the pic of you two!

  14. For what it’s worth we got the buggaboo frog almost 3 years ago. it has been a great pram. the main reason we got it was we had a toyota echo hatch-back with very little boot and it was the only pram we could find that would fit in the boot….it was the buggaboo or a new car but we also thought it was very very cute (ours is orange) we have not regretted spending the extra $$, at the time we could afford it (two incomes with the baby yet to arrive!). we will be using it for baby #2 as well.

    But prams have changed heaps in those three years and you no longer have to settle for ugly boring navy things with ugly teddies or cutsie love hearts everywhere. plus when we bought it there was not so much hype around it, it was not the ‘it’ pram, nobody had heard of it.

    so there you go! a personal shopping review for you!

Leave a Reply

