Wandering Thoughts On Water Births

So, these last few days I’ve really been thinking a lot more about having a home birth. I’m getting more excited about it, and even becoming confident in my ability to do this sans medication. I will be committed to a med-free birth at home, unless (God-forbid) there are complications that make it impossible. Okay, I know I’m really really early into my pregnancy, and I’m jumping ahead thinking about the delivery and birth plan already – but the organizational freak in me thought it’d be a good idea to jump right in with my research!!! I found birthing tanks for rent through aquadoula, but wasn’t sold. It didn’t look too comfortable. I didn’t see anything to hold on to. It seemed a little pricey too, with rental being $250 and shipping close to $200. Right there you’re at $450, without add-ons. I googled birthing tanks, birth pools and many other similar variations, and came across the Birth Pool In A Box. As soon as I saw it, I thought “that’s it!!”. I was so excited, AM so excited. They offer their birth pools for purchase, not rental, and they can be used more than once with new disposable liners (hello, baby #2!!!). They looked super comfy, with 4 sturdy handles and a seat!! I loved the seat, giving mommy some time to spend with the baby after the birth. They offer 3 types of pools: the birth pool in a box regular, mini, and eco (regular-sized). At only $185 with $20 shipping, this is very affordable. Here’s a picture of it:

The Regular Birth Pool in a Box: Eco includes a seat, and has been designed for strength and comfort with 2 people, enabling your partner to take an active part in the birth of your baby. The Birth Pool in a Box Mini is a smaller alternative for use when space is limited. The Eco Birth Pool In A Box is one of the only inflatable Birth Pools made without phthalates, which have been linked to fertility problems. Better for the environment, better for you and your baby.

I am so pumped to have found this! I really have to do a lot more reading on water births, but they honestly sound beautiful – what an amazing way to bring a baby into the world!

Pros of Water Births that I love:

  1. Significant pain relief is provided by getting into a tub. Some have compared it to the relaxing benefit of a narcotic.
  2. The water reduces gravity’s pull of the baby toward the mother’s back, thereby reducing pain from back labor.
  3. There is some evidence that tearing may be reduced in water births.
  4. Home births/water births involve fewer episiotomies and c-sections because the natural rhythms of the body are respected; these procedures are often done because of lack of patience on the part of the caregiver.
  5. Freedom to control your own birth experience. (lighting, music, noise level, people present).
  6. Environment is safe, warm, and inviting, making relaxation easier and labor smoother.
  7. Mother and baby have already developed antibodies to any germs found in the home, so they pose little threat to mother and child.
  8. Mother can eat, drink, and move around as she chooses.
  9. No separation of mother from infant.
  10. Partner can play as active a role as she wishes.

As for how I’m feeling: still in tip-top shape! No nausea whatsoever. My appetite has picked up and I still have the dull backache. Last night it was a little worse, and I struggled to sleep in any position. Also, I’m getting sharp twinges in my pelvic area that only last a second or two. I had another weird craving this morning.

Yorkshire pudding with gravy. This was breakfast time, so it was rather odd. MMMmmm…I could really go for some. Other than that, I really don’t even feel pregnant. For that reason, I can’t even tell you how desperately I need to hear that heartbeat. I need the confirmation of knowing the wee one is THERE and okay. Just a few more weeks. I can’t wait.

Tomorrow K and I are going to see Jason Mraz in concert. I know we’re going to have a blast!! Woo! Bring on the weekend . . . . .

 

11 thoughts on “Wandering Thoughts On Water Births

  1. I love that you’re doing your research. That’s the best way to make an informed decision on what’s best for YOU! A home water birth – how cool. That’s definitely my ideal as well. Man the pregnancy/baby urges are only intensifying after reading this. I’ll have to live vicariously through you for now!

  2. awesome choice! i’m assuming you have already watched business of being born. if not, it’s a must see! if you have netflix, you can watch it online.

    i think the birthpool in a box is a wonderful idea, especially compared to those other high price options. funny, because we were in target looking at kiddie pools for this same purpose. this is a far better option, trust! living room flooding is not hot.

  3. I think that is so awesome, and totally support you in the home birth. I watched “The Business of Being Born,” and it was definitely eye opening. How wonderful if you’re able to give birth at home! Keep us updated on all the funny cravings. haha

  4. i wanted a water birth from the time i knew they existed. i wanted to birth in a hospital, but my hops. did offer water birth. i couldn’t wait to get in (had to be at least 5cm) and really hoped to deliver in the tub.

    as luck would have it i asked to get in and was checked and was only 2cm. no go. next time i asked i was check and was 9cm! i got in there and spent 2 hours in the tub. it helped so much during the final stages of labor. i ended up needing to get out to deliver because i was stalling in the tub, but the time spent there was amazing – i loved being able to move into the contractions, they were still painful, but my body moved in a way that made them manageable.

  5. Hey! That is one great deal on a pool! You must be sort of like me, where I like to have everything researched and thought out WAY in advance of anything that happens. Some people even say I’m sort of manic about it :S

    Anyway, I hear you about wanting to make sure your baby’s ok, I’m the anxious type myself. Have you taken another pregnancy test? Maybe seeing the “positive” still there will soothe your nerves for a few days…

  6. De-lurking…just found your blog. I was born and raised in VA (Hampton Roads) so I’m excited to read about your journey in Richmond. I’m now in school in Atlanta to become a midwife so I’m excited you’re checking out the midwife route as well as home water birth! I look forward to reading more.

  7. I wish I could have a home birth. There is no one in this area who does home births because the NC laws make it difficult. Sigh… Hang in there until that ultrasound. Our first is today and it has been two weeks since my last blood work. I too need some peace of mind that all is alright in there.

  8. You want a good deal on a pool? Go to http://www.yourwaterbirth.com

    Check out the “Le Bassine” (not the pro version!) And then, after you have oogled at that birthing pool (for only $99), scroll down and look at the “aquarium pool” that I ended up buying for $25- and I totally do NOT regret scrimping on the handle and seat thing. I loved my little kiddie pool, and it is stored, and waiting for both baby number 2, and fun times in the summer with baby number 1!

    I didn’t want the pool with handles, because after you spend all that money for it, and birth your babies, you probably won’t use it for anything else, but I am glad that you are so excited about the potential waterbirth! Wahoo!

  9. Birthing pool looks great! You might also enjoy sitting in it during the summer when you get a little bigger and it’s hot outside!!

    Plus, you’d be surprised how much you might be able to get for it when you’re done through a resale shop or craigslist!

  10. i want me one of those pools just as big bath (i getting too big to fit comfortably in our smaller than average bath now!)
    I am excited for your planned water birth/midwife experience.
    as for hanging out for the heartbeat, completely understand.
    as for yorkshire pudding-weird craving!

Leave a Reply

