I’m Still Alive

gallery-paid-500.gif

I’ve been lacking in the blogging department. It’s bordering on neglect. I know. I realized this several days ago, but didn’t have anything blog-worthy to write about. I feel like life is just rolling along, day by day, and nothing overly interesting is happening in our lives. I’ve missed checking on all of you. Thanks to the girls who asked how we were doing. I haven’t forgotten about you all!! We have just been so darn busy at work; we get home exhausted. By the end of the day, I just haven’t even had the energy to be on the computer. Karli had to fire a screenprinter at the shop this week, and hire and train a new guy. We’ve had early mornings into work. One day this week we even went in at 2:30am (the usual time is 9am!). It’s sort of been going like this: 1)Go to work 2)Come home 3)Sleep 4) Repeat. I promise I’ll come and check on you guys soon. I am hoping you guys are having great luck in the TTC dept.

AF came and went (thankfully). Tomorrow will be CD8. I’ll start doing the OPKing in 2 days. We WILL NOT miss our fertile window this time, that is for sure. We just want it to work…. and it’s hard to realize that this just may take a long time. I know you guys know how it goes all too well– especially those who have been trying and trying for months, maybe even years to get your baby. Non TTC-ers we’ve spoken with about our plans just assume it will work instantly because we’re in our mid-twenties. Not always the case people! I want to limit the number of people we tell for that reason … I just don’t feel like I can deal with “no….it didn’t work this month”. I imagine months of that could become emotionally draining. It sucked after one month! I’m trying to just be excited for this next cycle and not nervous and dreading the wait. I know this is beyond our control at this point. We have let our donor know that we will need him 3 days in a row. Day before ovulation, day of, and day after. I’ve been contemplating just doing insems whenever I have EWCM, but will most likely just stick with the OPK plan. If I ovulate early this month (CD15ish) that will fall on next Saturday. One week from tomorrow. I AM excited. I just want this so badly. And only you girls know where we’re coming from!

I hope you all had a nice Valentine’s Day and have an awesome weekend. Hopefully, if you’re in the TWW, it’s going by quickly for you and this will be your last one for a long time! I just want this blogging community to be a big lesbian TTC success story. I want this is just work, for all of us. Is that too much to ask? I’m hopeful.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Responding now to Nashville Liz, who commented on my last post and asked a few questions:

First off, thanks for stopping by and good luck on the TTC road! I hope it happens quickly, and with as little effort as possible for you!!!

1) Thanks for the congrats on our engagement! Also, yes, it’s crazy where we met, and it was GREATLY TESTED indeed. That’s the understatement of the century!

2) Curiosity about home inseminations – do you have to have a special “sperm shooter”? Do you use a turkey baster??
No special sperm shooter! Just an oral syringe (like one for children’s cold medicine). The turkey baster would get the sperm caught up in the ball end of it, and it would be wasted in the process. You just draw up the small amount of sperm in the syringe, insert in, inject, and lay still!!! It has to swim, just like in a heterosexual relationship!!!!

3) a. Is our sperm donor being compensated??
Actually, No!!! Our donor is doing this out of the goodness of his own heart!!! No monetary gain whatsoever. He’s just “helping us out”. But, don’t get me wrong, we make it worth his while – we get him lots of gifts too, just to show him HOW much we appreciate what he’s doing for us. It is an unbelievable gift.

b. Will we still be doing periodic STD screens?
Yes! We will more than likely do one next month (one every 3 months). He always practices safe sex.

4)Screenprinting sounds cool; do you design your own stuff?
Thanks! Screenprinting IS a lot of fun! We have designed some of our own stuff in the past, just for kicks. The customers usually have pre-created logos, or have an idea of what they want. We then help them along with the process – making their ideas come to life on a t-shirt!!! My girlfriend has great artistic ideas and we have some friends that are in the design field – so we have lots of fun creating things just for ourselves or friends!! I’m actually looking at starting a baby clothing line later this year and selling them online 🙂

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

We are going to a pet expo tomorrow with our beagles, so maybe I’ll post some pictures from that next week. We always enter them into a contest for their singing. Nerdy, yes, but fun. We’re catching The L Word again on Sunday – whole lotta drama there of course – it’s TV – but, you can’t NOT watch it. Ya still gotta love it. Or, at least, I do. Other than that, we’ll be enjoying a little down-time this weekend.

Last, but not least – below is what happened to my glasses a few days ago. It was TIME to get rid of them. The prescription was old, the style outdated, not to mention our youngest beagle decided to make the ear pieces her chew toy a few years back:

oldglasses1.jpg
oldglasses2.jpg

And, my new ones – a vast improvement, wouldn’t you agree? (Many apologies for my lack-of-makeup)

newglasses1.jpg

newglasses2.jpg

16 thoughts on “I’m Still Alive

  1. Excellent spex! (We LOL at your last “perky” photo btw!) I agree with Lynn – glad you are OK and just busy. We were getting worried too! Can you post a video of the singing doggies???? PLEASE?? xxxx

  2. I knew you were ok. Figured busy or trying to stay busy as you waited . Missed you though. We have crazy work snafus too! Had a few weeks of them and JUST when we thought it was going to ease up. more stuff!

    I am cd 9 today.

    As for the answers to the questions posed by Nashville Liz . Thanks, I wondered about all that myself.

    And as far as compensating a donor. Is it appropriate to do so from a legal standpoint?

    Like could you advertise for a donor? Is that silly of me to ask?

    Seems so much easier when you just need sperm rather than someone to carry a baby for you regarding payments etc.

    STD screening. Oh so important!

    So READY, SET GO! I wanna be on top of my window too this month! We can do chart overlays. LOL.

    Have my fingers crossed and a prayer in the air always. HUGS

  3. I’m so glad you have unearthed yourself. I know missing last month must have been painful but you are so close to trying again this month. I do have an offer for you – unless you think it is weird .. we have 4 digital opks and the tester left over from our last month where I ovulated so fast. I’d be happy to mail them to you at home or at your work if you are interested in them. They are all sealed up. I know some people use them to confirm the cheaper ones… here’s to one of the last cold days of the miserable thing richmond called winter.

  4. Cute new specs! I just got new ones too and never did post a photo. I’ll have to do that soon.

    I’m glad you two are doing okay. J and I have been that busy before, and it’s exhausting. No wonder you’ve been MIA!

    It sounds like you have a great plan for catching your ovulation this time. Fingers crossed that this is the one and you won’t have to worry about all of the other stuff much longer.

  5. Hey, thanks for the comment. Crazy we have never ran into each other around town. It totally sucks you missed last month and you’re right the waiting and trying, waiting and trying sucks too. It takes a huge emotional toll. Good luck!

  6. Missed you love. Glad you’re back in the first tww, pre-o. Happy peeing on sticks. Have a blast at the pet expo. That sounds like so much thrilling animal goodness. Love the glasses. Great frames! oxx

  7. Thanks for answering my questions! 🙂 Too funny about entering the beagles in the singing contest. I dig the glasses!

    The baby design store sounds great. I think there is a good opening for that kind of art/baby stuff, especially if you make it hip and affordable.

    We started TTC in January, but I have not told anyone, for the same reason. Now, when I finally do get preggers (fingers crossed), it will be sooooooo hard to keep it secret for three months!

    Happy baby making! 🙂
    Liz

  8. Pet expo? Fun! i’m digging the new glasses, too. 🙂

    My fingers are crossed for you guys this month. i think you’re making the right decision by waiting to tell too many people. T and i let the world know over 3 years ago that we had started trying, and we STILL run in to people that go, ‘well, what the hell happened?’ It sucks, as you said, to tell people over and over again what it means to be infertile. And believe me…everyone has a suggestion, because everyone who got pregnant in one month is an “expert”. 😉

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

