The One That Got Away

photo-2.jpgK is laying down watching the Superbowl. I’ve tried to get interested in football, but I can’t. It’s against my nature. I just don’t understand why guys just want to run into each other. Plus, all that starting and stopping of the game, drives me crazy. So, with a few minutes on the computer, I thought I’d write. I haven’t blogged in a few days. It was too depressing really. My body, as I had thought, ovulated EARLY. Since I normally ovulate CD18 or CD20, I was only using one OPK per day on CD12-15. Not smart on my part. I did the usual POAS early in the morning on CD15, saw a faint line, and discarded it as NEGATIVE. I didn’t use an OPK for the rest of the day. The following morning, I did the same thing and saw NO LINE this time. Hmm. I didn’t even think at the time that I may have missed the surge and should do an insem ASAP… no, I just kept thinking that I would get a dark OPK test line around CD 18, or closer to it. I mean this was way early for me. I kept waiting, and that dark line never came. Fertility Friend confirmed my ovulation on CD15. It’s so frustrating. Of course my body had to throw a curve ball at me this cycle, when we were so ready to try again. So, now we really have nothing to do but wait. I’m 8DPO today. At least I don’t have my mind telling me that these “symptoms” mean I’m pregnant. Funny how I just shrug off the weird things that go on with my body when I’m not in the TWW like they’re nothing at all. My brother (who has no idea that we are TTC) just emailed me and told me that he and my sister-in-law are pregnant and due in September. I’m truly happy for them (no sarcasm here at all, for real), it’s just typical that life would throw that at me on the day I find out we just missed our chance!! I think God has a sense of humour. Ahh, this TTC timing though…! It’s enough to make you crazy. Alas, we are getting through it and waiting waiting waiting for the next cycle. We are just so ready. Sometimes it’s hard to be patient. I am out of the city for this week, house-sitting at a friends place with our 3 beagles and watching their 2 big doggies. It’s a nice distraction right now. Just what I needed to take my mind off the TTC stress. We haven’t put a contract on the house yet. We’re not sure what we’re going to do. We found another house that may work out better, so for now, we’re holding off until we feel 100% about what we’re doing. Hoping you all had a great weekend, football or no football, and are having lots of luck in the TTC dept.
18 thoughts on “The One That Got Away

  1. That really does suck. Tracking the ever elusive ovulation – one of the many joys of TTC.

    It’s funny, isn’t it, how most of these ‘symptoms’ occur when there is no possible way for us to be pregnant, but they take on such importance and weight during a TWW – enough to make me go insane.

    On to next month…. And good luck with the house situation.

    Oh and I agree about the football thing. Never really got that.

  2. That sucks indeed. Yep, someone “up there” has a sense of humour, and a really crap one at that. Sigh. Hugs to you both.

    And footy is banned in our house!! xx

  3. Well that does so suck. I’m sorry you missed this month. Seems you have an handle on timing tho .

    I used 2 -7 Day Answer Brand this month . Walmart at $12 x 2 this month. Hubby was so happy! I do it twice a day at least, Because unlike most women I see my surge overnight and dang it don’t wanna miss it . Not mid day like they tell you. Otherwise it’s been pretty predictible timewise. Day 13 showed ov last two cycles And I ov fast seems . The trick is to get in one before, and as many as we can muster after. Unique!

    Thankfully hubby isn’t BI G on football. Chuck was and I endured 21 yrs of that . I don’t get it I guess. Ron IS big into TV tho. King of the Remote. And that drives me nuts too.

    I mean he watches what he wants, when he wants and doesn’t consult usually. Just changes compulsively.

    I am 8 dpo today. And temp is higher 2nd day in a row. On that third level . Lets hope! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Thats a bummer, sorry chica!
    Evrythign happens for a reason though and I am a firm believer that God has a wonderful sense of humor. =)

  5. I feel the same way about football! I also think it’s just an excuse for men to feel okay touching each other.

    Everything DOES happen for a reason and now you won’t miss your chance again. Just when we think we can control our body….

  6. Bugger it. How annoying! Always one for a silver lining though – console yourself that you’d already got through half the wasted cycle before realising that it was wasted – so now you only have to wait out the second half, rather than the whole thing. You’ll be up and running again before you know it!

  7. “Funny how I just shrug off the weird things that go on with my body when Iโ€™m not in the TWW like theyโ€™re nothing at all.” – I totally agree.

    I’m so sorry your ovulation was on the fritz this month. You’ll be all the more ready for cycle #3. And it’s almost here!

    ox

  8. I’m so sorry to hear you ovulated early. I just hate that we don’t have more control over this at times. Try to make the best of your month off. Believe it or not, your next cycle is just around the corner. xoxo

  9. suck…
    suck…
    and better luck next time, cause i really do think it is a lot of planning and planning, but in the end, well, luck is the thing that makes it happen–chance you know. there’s a lot of luck and chance and all that stuff bigger than us hanging out there. here’s hoping you two grab lots of handfuls of luck next time around.

  10. hello! I came across your blog when seeking conception blogs (yours popped up right away). I am trying to conceive as well and just started last month. I totally understand the ups and downs and I haven’t even been at it that long!

    A couple of questions/comments for you, if you don’t mind:

    1. Wow, I can’t believe that you met your life partner at Jerry Falwell’s university. I have to say that it sounds like your love had to be greatly tested in such circumstances. Yay for you guys for making it through! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on the engagement!

    2. Okay, so I am trying to imagine this at home insemination thing. Are you given a special sperm shooter? I am imagining a turkey baster. LOL. Does it “squirt” with enough force for the sperm to swim their way?

    3. Is the Sperm Donor being compensated? Will you still be doing periodic STD screens?

    4. I am into the arts and think your screen printing job sounds fun! Do you ever design your own stuff for fun?

    Okay, I will stop with the inquisition!

    Sprinkling baby dust your way!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Nashville Liz

Leave a Reply

