Black Friday

sale_banner.jpg

Back from morning shopping mayhem! This whole “Black Friday” thing is new to me. In Canada, the biggest shopping day is Boxing Day – the day after Christmas. It is a national holiday. Traditionally, it is the day that people “box” up their Christmas decorations and put them away until next year. Yeah….NOT SO MUCH any more. Over the years, it’s really turned into the best day of the year to find unbelievable prices at the shops. The Boxing Day shopping craziness is very similar to that of people here for Black Friday. People line up the night before to be the first ones in the store. Boxing Day 2005 was the single largest economic transaction day ever in the history of Canadian commerce (according to Visa). INsane. Anyway, I got a bunch of movies for $2.96 each (as did K): The Holiday, Shawshank Redemption, The Notebook. I picked up the ALIENS trilogy for my brother for $9.98!!! Crazy. I got a few cool Christmas items to send to the fam up north. An old-school collector’s edition of CANDYLAND and CHUTES & LADDERS. A huge Marvel Universe Comic Encyclopedia for my comic-loving brother. A bought an adorable 3-ft Christmas tree for the condo and a bunch of picture frames for the bedroom. And to think, I don’t even LIKE shopping. The huge crowds actually bother me a little. People are rude, they’re in a hurry and they don’t really care who gets in the way. I definitely enjoy a less-hectic shopping day! Nevertheless, it was well worth the trip out.

I hope you guys all had a great Thanksgiving. As it was just the two of us, and K’s mom – we didn’t go all out and do a turkey with all the fixin’s. We were planning to go out for dinner somewhere, but my girl wasn’t feeling too well, so Thanksgiving dinner consisted of one broccoli & cheese lean pocket for me, and spinach pizza for K!!

I put up the small Christmas tree this afternoon. Yesterday was 75 degrees….so it hasn’t been feeling very Christmas-y. Virginia weather is nuts…..yesterday 75, today 49. And we wonder why people are getting sick. Thanksgiving is over; We can all officially start listening to Christmas music. Come on, you know you love it. Actually, completely non-Christmas related…I’ve been listening to the soundtrack to the movie musical Across The Universe. The guy who plays JUDE, Jim Sturgess, has the most amazing voice. Again, I’ve posted 2 videos at the bottom of this post. Puts a fresh spin on some classic Beatles tunes.

fp_ovaltine.gif

Completely random thought: I’m on an OVALTINE kick. I don’t know how this happened, or where it came from. OVALTINE – of all things! I picked up a can of it last time we went grocery shopping. For some reason, I had just started getting sick of my usual Swiss Miss! Wow: I just had a thought: NEWSFLASH! BORING! Seriously though, that ad is hilarious. It’s easy as pie! I’m committed to saying that to someone at least 2 times this weekend.

In TTC news, our donor is getting an HIV test on Monday morning, followed by STD tests later in the week. I am confident in his health, but it is just a precautionary measure. The only thing is, I MAY ovulate before we can get the STD test results. If so, we would have to skip out on this month’s insemination, which would delay us until the end of December. Fingers crossed for a later ovulation and quick test results for our donor!

5 thoughts on “Black Friday

  1. I was out fairly early Black Friday morn. To the bank ad to Publix to spend gift card from bosses. I wanted to go to Walmart too but forrrrrrget it! I couldn’t believe how many cars were in the parking lot.

    A FOX news copter hovered overhead. 😀

    I’ll wait on the bargins.

    And the TTC thing: GREAT! And it’s GREAT that you have a pos attitude about delay. IT helps ALOT!

  2. You braved the crowds on Friday? Wow you’re BRAVE! :o) Sounds like you got some good deals. Way to go!

    Lots of luck on the insemination!

    P.S. I looked for an email to send yall something but couldn’t find one. If you get a chance drop me a line at kperry@williamsburgva.gov

  3. Hey there,

    Wanted to answer your question from my blog. Yes, I use Fertility Friend and I did find it very helpful, especially for my doctor and acupuncture appointments where I could print them off and go in with all this information. I quit using it now though because temping was stressing me out too much.

    Lots of luck with your upcoming cycle!

Leave a Reply

